Signs of Labor and Giving Birth – Goats

When I first got my goats I bought pygmys that were pregnant. I had no idea what labor looked like, and missed the births from both goats. Later, I bought my first nigerian dwarf goat and wanted to be there for the birth of her babies. I searched and searched for videos showing behavior leading up to hard labor, but could find very little. Most videos were too dark to see much, or the camera kept hopping all over the place. Because of this, I thought that if I could catch my goat at the right time I would film her for others.

I did edit out most of the early labor since it stretched out for around an hour before Cin’s water broke. You will see segments of early labor, just understand that it can last a fairly long time with little action. After that is the birth of the first two kids. A third surprised us as Cin stood nursing, and I think it surprised her too! It was the runt and just dropped out and we had the camera off thinking she was finished. I have also included some clips a few hours after birth to two days after. I hope this helps many new goat owners!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Signs of Labor and Giving Birth – Goats

  1. Laura Little says:

    I’m a new goat owner with a very pregnant doe looking desperately for info on goat labor and delivery. How glad I was to find your video and website! Then I saw your profile and was even happier! I homeschooled both my kids, one with moderate mental retardation and autistic tendencies, and we live on a 5 acre wooded homestead with goats, chickens, rabbits and one duck! Trying to secure a better food source for our family! Glad to find you!

    • Welcome, Laura! We are glad you found us, and doubly thankful you found information here helpful :-) I love hearing from people doing similar things, and even answering questions. Your doing great getting prepared for your coming goat babies. If I might recommend a sight that helped me tremendously when I bought my first goats, Fias Co Farm has wonderful information. There is no other sight I have found as thorough as theirs. I am endeavoring to fill gaps in the video department, but often am short a videographer when I need one! Feel free to contact me with questions.

  2. Bess says:

    Hello! Just wanted to say thanks for the video. I have a couple does who are due any day, and I was wondering if one of them was having some mild contractions. Kept stopping and staring into space for a minute or so at a time. Your video gave me a clearer picture of what to look for!

  3. Jane Jackson says:

    Hi- I’m waiting for my pygmy to kid. I never have luck with the ligament test. She has really bagged up the past week. We don’t know when she got pregnant,as this was a surprise…. She has kidded before, but not for us. I had 3 does kid last spring. Didn’t know they kidded in the winter.We are in SC, so it’s moderate anyway. I have been looking up some obscure signs for imminent kidding, such as full moon, barometric pressure, and time of day.Are these reliable? thanks-

    • Hmm… some rely on them pretty heavily. To some extent the pull of the moon and weather will influence things, but I don’t use those right now and don’t have a lot of information. I am guessing on a doe right now as well :-)

  4. Nicole says:

    They are adorable! My 2 goats are going to kid any day now and i cant wait. Kids are so cute. The mothers and grandmothers were born at my house to and ive grown up around goats. I love them.

  5. Kathleen Gast says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience and the video. Decca is due any day, and I feel a little more confident. Very grateful.

Leave a Reply

