Homemade Tooth Powder

I really hate most commercial toothpastes. I don’t like fluoride, sugar, or any of the other stuff in most toothpastes, even the so-called “natural” ones that cost an arm and a leg. Thus, I decided a while back to create easy, budget-friendly tooth powders for my family. As a child my family used plain old baking soda and never struggled with cavities, but as an adult using toothpaste I had a mouth full of them! So, out of childhood experience and research was born a new recipe!

tooth powder 062

Now, my dentist told me to quit using this, said it would be too abrasive to my teeth, but strangely enough when I did what he told me I started getting cavities again, so I’m back to using it and my teeth are much happier. Here is how I make it.

First, gather your supplies. This can be very simple, or you can add a few things as desired and play a bit. You will need a bowl for mixing, a spoon, and something to measure with. You will also need the ingredients (salt and baking soda primarily).

tooth powder 025

Add the baking soda and salt to a bowl.

tooth powder 027

I add essential oils and extracts to please me. Orange and lemon to make a teaspoon, and another teaspoon or two of mint. I sometimes add tea-tree essential oil in small amounts as an antibacterial, but it’s a little bitter.

tooth powder 036

These are spoons my Momma gave me. I love the words written on them!

tooth powder 041

A closer view of the spoons;

tooth powder 038

tooth powder 039

Anyway, enough about spoons. Go ahead and add your oils.

tooth powder 043

Mix everything together until the oils are combined evenly with the salt and baking soda. I then add powdered stevia leaves from my garden for a tooth enamel booster and sweetener, about a tablespoon should do.

tooth powder 051

Mix it all up and spoon it into a jar or pretty glass container to leave in your bathroom.

tooth powder 066

To use, simply wet a toothbrush and dip in the mixture, then brush your teeth. Don’t over-use this, and be sure to use lots of water while brushing to keep it gentle on gums and teeth. It cleans very quickly, and without enough water it can be too abrasive, especially when you first start using it! Remember that you make and use this at your own risk. I’m not your doctor or a professional, it’s just what I do.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 2 Tablespoons sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons food oils of your choice (extracts and some essential oils) I like lemon, orange, and mint extracts.
  • 1 Tablespoon stevia powder for sweetening if desired

Mix well, and store in closed container.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading, Natural Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homemade Tooth Powder

  1. Danielle says:

    I am going to try this recipe today. I also hate commercial tooth paste and I am spending way too much $$ on the “natural” varieties – plus I never completely trust their ingredients lists.
    Thank you!

  2. This is awesome! I do plan on making some tooth powder soon. Where did you get your measuring spoons they are awesome?!

  3. eve says:

    Pretty cool! Thanks a lot for the wisdom! I’ve been using baking soda, too, not only as tooth cleaner but I use in a number of things! Indeed, it’s very useful!

  4. eve says:

    By the way, where do you get stevia powder? what is the alternative if i don’t find it or if it not available here?

Leave a Reply

