My Goat Barns

So, we have been chatting on a goat forum on Facebook, and someone is looking for barn ideas for her goats. So, here are mine! Keeping in mind that we re-use, re-cycle, and go as cheap as possible and I didn’t clean up today (it’s been a long week), this is what we have.

This here is the end view. Remember, we only have a half acre, so every bit of space counts.  See how the doe barn is in front, and then to the left and set back we join up to the buck pen? I haven’t had any bad milk from it, and we have a wall between the pens.

Here is the long side view with the front for perspective. We have a lot of doorways.

This is the hallway. I only have one kidding pen up right now as it’s all I need and I like the extra space. I store feed bins along the hall.

This is the milking parlor. It has a door to our yard and a double door to the goat yard that locks in such a way as children cannot easily enter. I have a shelf along the wall, and the cabinet is my medicine keeper and other supplies.

The kidding stall has a creep-feeder door that be opened and closed. The kids stay in the stall at night so I can milk in the mornings.

Next comes the loafing area. It has two parts and doors so that I can make a separate yard with shelter when needed using fencing pannels.

These are the double doors. The other end will have one this summer, I just have to build it.

Door lock and latch.

And last, the buck house. It was here already, and has a recessed concrete floor. Works for the bucks since they never seem to pee inside, but girls make it a mess.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Goat Barns

  1. LindaG says:

    Wow. So organized. :)
    I don’t understand the part about the doe pen in front, and touching the buck pen and bad milk.
    Why would that give you bad milk? Just curious. :)
    Have a great weekend!

    • The doe pen comes out further into our yard, it’s much larger than the buck pen. They adjoin one-another, though, and that’s supposedly a big no-no with goats. The bucks can make the does stinky by peeing on them and in the general area, and that can make your milk “goaty”. And yes, it does happen, which is why we have a wall between. Also, the bucks will fight a lot when the does are in heat, which means possible vet bills, another reason for the wall. You have to keep things really clean and fresh with your milkers or the milk will pick up bad tastes from things like ammonia build-up in the bedding. It’s like it permeates the udder.

      And thanks for the compliment! You have a great weekend too :-)

Leave a Reply

