A Child’s Mistake

I made this awesome sour cream coffee cake today to take to a home-school event. My kids were terribly excited as they watched me make the glaze for it! I even spilled a little bit of sugar on the counter that they proceeded to clean up.

Everything smelled so good! Then, just as I finished the cake, my son came to my attention. He was spitting all over the place, with the most awful grimace on his face. I asked what in the WORLD was he DOING?! He, in turn, asked me what the white stuff on the floor was, ’cause it sure wasn’t powdered sugar!

I couldn’t help but laugh as I looked at the pile of baking soda I had spilled earlier in the day and just hadn’t gotten cleaned up. He had taken a big handful of it and stuffed it in his mouth thinking it was more powdered sugar!  Something tells me he will be more careful of what goes in his mouth in the future!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Cakes & Cookies, Family, Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

