Kitchen Aid Mixers & GF Baking

I love my Kitchen Aid Mixer! It’s an older version I bought off ebay when we went gluten-free. When I say older, I mean like 20 years or so. It still works, and under the heavy work I give it, it is still going strong!

I do not in any way work for Kitchen Aid, but I do think this is an invaluable piece of equipment in any GF kitchen. I have tried other mixers off the shelf of department stores, and every one of them fries within 2 or 3 batches of bread. I have an Ultra Classic mixer with 325-watts of mixing power behind it. I want one of the Pro mixers, with 575-watts of power! GF baking requires a LOT of torque, and that baby can handle it!

Besides being a great mixer, Kitchen aids come in awesome colors! I think I need more than one so I can choose a different color every day! These are just a few of the colors offered;

You can buy attachments to do almost anything, though some are more worth the money than others. I love the pasta attachment for making GF pastas. It is a lot easier than doing it with a knife! I used the meat grinder recently, and that was okay, but really needed a shield as it splatters the meat and juicy stuff all over your walls and you if your not ready. I want to try grinding flours too, but have read that it doesn’t do the best job on beans and corn, so I’m not sure it’s worth the money for that. I can buy bulk flours pretty cheap comparatively.

All-in-all, I would seriously recommend buying the best Kitchen Aid mixer you can afford when you start doing GF baking. You will never regret it, trust me!!!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Gluten-free, Tips & Equipment and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

