Natural Hair Cleanser

I am terribly sensitive to commercial cleansing agents, like shampoo and soap. That is not a good thing when living on a mini-farm! I have been making natural soap for a while now, but was using “natural, organic” shampoos from the store. My scalp was constantly itchy, despite not using products containing artificial colors and fragrances, or chemicals like sodium laureth sulfate.

By the time I started getting sores on my head I knew I had to figure something out, but I had tried shampoo bars and didn’t like them. I went back and looked at the packaging of these very expensive shampoos and found that they all contain wheat protein! Well, since I have an allergy or intolerance to wheat, I figured out that must be the problem. Now for the solution. Hmmmm…

Okay, I have it! Just use water! Well, actually, water and baking soda. I finally tried the simplest solution for shampoo I had ever seen. What you do is take around 2 tablespoons of baking soda and add just enough warm water to make a paste. Then, in the shower, wet your hair, dump the gunk on your head, and massage it into your scalp. Note, this is for your scalp, not the lengths of your tresses. They can be left alone.

After massaging your scalp for a couple of minutes, rinse thoroughly with warm water. My hair was so much better the very first time, and the sores went away! Now, I keep a jar with my shampoo baking soda and a few drops of an essential oil like lavender, rose, or rosemary tightly capped in the bathroom. It absorbs the odor and gives a fresh scent to your hair, while cleaning it quite nicely.

There are a couple things to remember when switching to natural products. One is that your skin and hair are probably damaged from commercial products, so it will take time to help them become healthy again. With hair it is especially noticeable. Normally you cover up the damage by using products such as conditioner to give the feeling of health, but it’s false. Once you go “all natural” you will see what your have done to yourself in the past. It may take a few months and a couple of hair cuts to really see normal hair. Here are some signs of healthy hair: it combs easily, but is not “slippery”; it doesn’t squeak; when dry it is full and fluffy, with a silky-soft feel.

Now, go! Make the best natural shampoo out there and give your hair and scalp a treat!

Recipe for Baking Soda Scalp Scrub:

1 cup baking soda
5-10 drops essential oil of choice (I prefer Rosemary, Rose, Thyme,  Tea Tree, or Lavender)
Pint jar with plastic lid (can be bought in the canning section of most stores)

Mix baking soda and essential oil until well combined. Put in jar and cap tightly. Leave to infuse for a day or two, and use.

To use, mix 2 tablespoons baking soda with enough warm water to make a paste, them massage into wet scalp. Rinse, and feel beautiful!

 

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Natural Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Natural Hair Cleanser

  1. Robin says:

    I have been using this for a couple of weeks, and I can’t get over the difference! I have curly hair, which is usually quite frizzy and dry. I stopped using any commercial product, just the baking soda and water. I only wash my hair twice a week, but I can actually get a comb through it again!

    • Curly hair loves soap nuts too! I have very curly hair naturally, and it tends to be dry. I use the baking soda every few weeks now and the soap nuts every other day. They make my scalp feel great!

  2. I am leaving this comment and link since it pertains to the topic. I visited the site and it looks ok. If you try the products and like them, let the rest of us know. ~ Jordana Nigerian Meadows

    Hello, I would like to introduce myself to all of you. I am Emily Bazemore Owner and Chief Formulator of a minority company called Ayari Cosmetics, LLC. I have been developing hair and skin care products for several major companies for over 17 years. I wanted to share with you a wonderful and fantastic natural product. It is called the Elixir Polishing Mist. Made with Coconut oil, Ecocert emollient, Grape Seed Oil, sunscreen and no preservatives. This wonderful product will improve the look of dry hair while making it hydrated, silky and manageable without mineral oil or silicones. It gives you that great polished look and within two weeks of application, your hair will be noticeably improved. It is an ultra-light formula to provide split end repair and reduce frizz while protecting it from UV. The month of May will we have a special running for a 2 oz mist bottle for $3.00. After May, it will be $6.00. I also have a natural hand-made hair and body shampoo soap at the reduced price for this month. These are truly great products. It’s worth it! Website: http://www.ayaricosmetics.com Please use the contact page for additional questions or orders.

    Our Natural hand made shampoo bar /body soaps are made with Coconut Oil, Palm Oil, Eucalyptus Oil, Tea Tree Oil & Peppermint Oil. Cleans without stripping with luxurious lather and pleasant natural fragrance. 3.5oz

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ayari-Cosmetics-LLC/172765489412174#!/pages/Ayari-Cosmetics-LLC/172765489412174

    http://www.ayaricosmetics.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

