The Benefits of Living with Goats

I’m sitting here thinking about how many good things come from raising goats, especially the Nigerian Dwarf. I just spooned day-old cream from the milk straight into my cup of piping hot coffee, mmmm… Not many get to claim that privilege. They have such rich, creamy milk! I praise God for the opportunity to raise these animals to provide for my family. I count the milk as liquid gold, and horde it jealously. At almost every meal we use it in some way, from the puddings and cheeses to the baked products, and especially in a nice frosty glass!

 

Just last night I relished the peaceful time I spent milking. Being close to these animals is like a balm to the spirit. The warmth and peace and pleasure far exceed those I get from any other animal I have ever had. They each have their place, but the Nigerian Dwarf has the excitement of personality that one could expect from a dog, the care-less-about-what-you-want attitude of a cat, the inquisitiveness of a monkey. Every day and every goat is unique. When you take the time to know these animals, you will never want to be without them!

Many people who come to our little farm comment that they could never have a goat. Yet, many of those same people fence in large backyards for 2 or 3 dogs. Yes, keeping a goat takes knowledge. Many veterinarians will not take on goats as clients. The owner has to be prepared to learn a lot, but the rewards are worth every bit of effort. People who keep this breed of goat are very helpful as you learn. Nigerian Dwarfs make such wonderful pets, and stay so manageable in size that they can be around children without fear of injury (of course, common sense must prevail as all animals have potential of hurting a child, even dogs and cats). Below I have listed some of the benefits of these dear animals, and I hope that one day many of you can share in the same joy I have in them!
-milk
-fresh cheese
-companionship
-entertainment
-chance to teach responsibility to children
-hobby (showing and breeding make good use of your mind)
-a lovely conversation point
-peace
-community (we pull together)
-sustainable living, helping the Earth

Many more things could be added, but they tend to fall in these realms. If you may be considering buying a couple of goats and have any questions, feel free to contact me!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

