Wormers Effectiveness

Here at Nigerian Meadows we treat all of our goats health issues herbally except in the rare instance of some illness or parasite problem that just won’t go away. We started out using an herbal blend of wormer from Molly’s Herbals, a very good blend that worked great. Since I grow a lot of herbs and buy them in bulk, I began looking for a more cost effective approach and developed the recipe I have here. You will have to scroll down some to find it.

Not all the goats enjoy the dosage balls, so I decided about three months ago to try a commercially available herbal wormer in pellet form. For legal reasons I will not give you the name, but it is generally available anyplace you buy goat feed. Now, normally when I worm with the dosage balls I see a distinct difference in coat health and milk production. With the commercial wormer the goats never showed any response, but they didn’t seem to be over-ridden with parasites either.

Well, as this month came and I was running low on the pellet wormer I decided to use my formula again, even though it’s a bit more work. Within 12 hours of giving it to our goats I went out for the nightly milking and had the shock of my life! There were worms, yes, WORMS crawling out of their behinds!! Milk production decreased for about 24 hours as the parasites made a mass exit from goat bodies, but by the third milking production was above what it had been before and far more creamy than it had been for the past couple of months. Not only that, but goats that had not gone into heat for the past three months suddenly did, and strongly! After this experience I will not go back to the easy route! I don’t know what is so effective about the wormer I make or the one you can get from Molly’s Herbals, but there is something the parasites do not like!
Here’s to healthy, happy goats!!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wormers Effectiveness

  1. mbcagle@juno.com says:

    I just got into goats to supply milk/cheese for my family of nine. I also homeschool my children, grow a good deal of our veges, raise chickens, quail, ducks, and rabbits on 0.8 acre. I have been following your blog for a little while. Recently, I picked up a buck from Lisa at Fields of Grace in Sevierville. She mentioned you … what a coincidence. Anyway, I am going to use your herbal recipe. I was wondering how many doses one recipe makes.

    Thanks!

    • You sound very ambitious! What a small world it is, too! Lisa is awesome, and I love the direction her herd is going in. I am thrilled to have Diego from her!

      The herb mix doesn’t really have a dosing amount, I feed it on their chaffhaye or in a mineral feeder quite frequently. Generally a Tablespoon is considered a dose, but I do way more than that as they need it. I hit heavy and strong so I don’t risk liver damage. Also, I need to update the recipe. This mix did not hit barberpole worm (HC). I need to add cloves and cinnamon to the mix for that. I imagine 1-2 cups cinnamon and 1-2 cups ground clove in the mix (1 cup is probably fine). Let me know how it works for you in your area and how you end up dosing it! I’m rather curious how it works for others. I am doing fecals again this week to see if I have gotten rid of the HC in my girls. Oh, I added some slippery elm powder to help heal their guts too.

  2. mbcagle@juno.com says:

    BTW, I have been praying for you boys after I read your post about going to the new church. Sheprding our children is so hard sometimes.

    • Thank you! We had a much better experience this week after a week without sugar or dye in our diet. No teasing, but you can tell from things he says he feels he is different and doesn’t want to be, he just can’t change who he is.

Leave a Reply

