Your Going Swimming?!

It’s morning. Early morning. On Sunday. My kids were up at 5a.m. and chasing one another around the house, stealing the flashlight to play outside in the dark, and asking me endless questions as I endeavored to wake up enough to drink my very large cup of coffee.


The sun was still in bed when they grabbed their swimsuits and asked to play in the pool. “The POOL?!!” I ask.  It’s under 60 degrees outside, and dark! And I’m still drinking coffee!” Here’s where my sweet husband say’s “okay” and then tells me I have to come too since he’s too sick to jump in and save them. Thanks, Luv!

So, out we troop. The kids toss in the pool lights and shout loud enough to wake the dead (or at least the neighbors) about the pretty disco patterns. Meanwhile, I’m sitting swallowed in my coat and nursing a rapidly cooling cup of coffee. Then they stick their feet in the water and jump right back out saying it’s too cold! Kids!

The neat thing was that we got to see the pair of hummingbirds that have been living in our garden for the last two years! Just as the sun came up we saw them feasting on nectar from the flowers growing on the fence. What a way to greet the day!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

