Chaffhaye; The First Day

Today marked the beginning of feeding Chaffhaye to the goats. We have been feeding regular hay, such as rye-grass, coastal Bermuda, and alfalfa, but the waste of at least half of every bale and the respiratory problems if it gets left on the floor very long encouraged us to check into something new. When a fellow goat-keeper/breeder told me about a new hay with zero waste I was intrigued!

Chaffhaye comes in alfalfa and grass hays which have been cut/chopped, had a fine spray of molasses and natural pro-biotic bacteria added, and then have been bagged in air-tight plastic and allowed to naturally ferment. This allows pro-biotics that are good for the rumen to flourish and the hay softens and becomes partially digested. Because of the fermentation process, even the parts of the hay goats would usually waste are turned into something they relish.

The bags come in 50lbs. and are smaller than you would expect considering they are equal to 75-100lbs. of baled hay. After loading the van (no truck needed!) I found my senses going wild over the delicious smells, and found myself wishing I was a goat!

I arrived home and used a wheelbarrow to cart my bags of Chaffhaye to the barn (according to their web-site, Chaffhaye may be stored outdoors, but I only bought 6 bags for starters). I opened the first bag and the goats went wild as the sweet smell reached them. I used food grade plastic pails about 1 gallon in size and filled each 2/3 full and entered the goat yard. To say I was mobbed is an understatement! These critters loved it! I immediately noticed that the goats kept their heads in the buckets and were not dropping anything on the ground. They also seemed to fill up rather quickly, though they kept going back for little nibbles, like when you just can’t get quite enough of some tasty treat even though you are full.

I have left their usual hay available while the goats adjust to the Chaffhaye, but it looks like it will be a hit around here! Keep watching for updates during the next few weeks as I observe it’s impact on pregnancy, birthing, and milk production.

Here are some of the expected benefits as put forth by the Chaffhaye company;

  • Top Quality
  • Highly Digestible & Palatable
  • Easy Storage
  • Dust, Mold, Blister-beetle, & Weed Seed Free
  • Less Waste
  • Reduced Hay-belly
  • Cost Effective (50% less poop, fewer vet bills, easier to store & transport, etc.)
  • Customizable protein content by mixing the hays
  • Guaranteed: You can return it to the dealer!

If you are interested in visiting the companies web-site for more information or to locate a dealer, click here.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chaffhaye; The First Day

  1. Pingback: Cheffhaye; Day 5 | Nigerianmeadows's Farm Diary

  2. Pingback: Summer Heat and Chaffhaye | Nigerianmeadows's Farm Diary

Leave a Reply

