Pumpkin Carving Adventure!

This is the time of year for carving pumpkins and making memories! Not only can you teach your child about seasons, the history of Halloween, current practices, and art, your child will have tons of fun and especially enjoy doing something with you, their favorite person (or persons!).


This is me and my boys removing seeds and carving a pumpkin. They are still too young to handle the knives!

These were small pumpkins from a field trip to a local farm. I do mean small!


I just love the looks on their faces after lighting the candles! They were having so much fun they could hardly contain it! They researched face ideas with their Dad, then drew what they wanted on a piece of paper. I then applied their designs to their respective pumpkins. They were quite proud!

Below are pictures of their pumpkins in the dark. Let me tell you, taking slow exposure pictures of one child is not easy, but to get 2 to stay still is next to impossible!

This is my youngest’s design.


And my older child’s pumpkin. Scary!

If you are interested in learning the origens of Halloween, Wikipedia has a very good, concise article that can be used to teach your children or class. You can find it here. Time to go have fun!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homeschool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

