Review of Nourashing Traditions, a Book on Healthful Eating

I wanted to share a book with you that I have found very helpful in improving my family’s health. It’s called “Nourishing Traditions: The Cookbook that Challenges Politically Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats” by Sally Fallon. Note; I am not selling this nor profit in any way by this review. It is just my humble opinion of a book.

Here is a picture of the book:

This book is based primarily on the research of Dr. Weston A. Price of The Weston A. Price Foundation, though it references information from government and independent research papers in large quantities.

The book is laid out in two columns, with one being large and containing the recipes, and the other narrow and giving quotes of interest and health information. I find the book to be the best nutrition guide I have come across, giving plenty of support from diverse research studies to all ideas presented. It has a holistic view of nutrition, and everything I have applied to my family’s lifestyle has only helped improve our health.

At this time, my family uses raw dairy from our own goats, eggs from a small flock of chickens we raise ourselves, and we use naturally fermented products as much as possible. In the near future I am going to be experimenting with soaking flours, as soaking beans, seeds, and whole grains has been a great improvement. I can’t get around the idea of eating small amounts of raw meat, so we always have fermented foods with our cooked meats, though I am learning not to over-cook them. Meats, or so I have found, please the pallet more when tender and full of flavor rather than dry and tasteless from over-cooking.

This book is so revolutionary that you will not be able to apply all the principles contained in it right away. It’s an entirely different way of looking at nutrition, and you almost need to take one section at a time and begin learning how to use it in your lifestyle before adding another. All at once it will be too much to take in, and you will quickly find yourself reverting to what you have been doing your whole life. As in all things, change must be undertaken one small step at a time, but the changes suggested in this book are well worth implementing.
~
I want to share a little here at the end about how the information in this book has helped my family. Both of our children fall on the autism spectrum, and have celiac sprue, which is an inability to digest gluten, especially that found in wheat. Our whole family has had difficulty eating dairy products, to the point that we decided we were both lactose intolerant and allergic to the proteins. The children avoided meat products, and often reacted to eggs, soy, corn, nuts, and peanuts. This led to a very restrictive diet, and we spent time in the doctors office at least twice a month if not more for various infections and general illness.

A friend let me borrow this book, and I was so impressed with the research that I immediately applied as many of the changes as I could at the time. The biggest thing was adding goats to our small backyard for dairy.

We chose the cheapest small goats we could find since we were afraid we still wouldn’t be able to use the milk, but much to our surprise the kids begged for it and none of us were sick when we drank it. Over the next year our health improved dramatically. We added more goats that were better able to produce large quantities of milk, drinking as many as 7 or 8 gallons a week with our family of 4. All the ear infections were gone, teeth that were breaking healed, the children started growing again, and we quit needing a doctor all the time. Besides all this, and despite the FDA’s cautions about fat and drinking too much milk, we started to get leaner. It was truly amazing! When I would think of all this small change accomplished I become even more eager to share this knowledge and apply more changes to our life.

All in all, I will continue to break the mold for my family based on the recommendations in this book. It will go against all the diet fads of today and yesterday, break all the FDA rules for diet, and make you an oddity to your family and friends, but no one will deny your improved health and vitality. I recommend this book for everyone, but especially for those that are struggling with weakened bodies and who are constantly fighting illness and health conditions such as allergies, asthma, diabetes, etc. Here’s to your health; cheers!

If you found this review helpful and informative, please share it with others. There are buttons at the bottom that will allow you to easily share it on Facebook, Twitter, and other social forums. You may also comment on both the review and the book, and I would love to hear other stories from people who have used the book to improve their health! Thank you!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Chickens, Family, Garden, Gluten-free, Goats, Homesteading, Natural Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of Nourashing Traditions, a Book on Healthful Eating

  1. Pingback: Dressing out a Deer | Nigerianmeadows's Farm Diary

Leave a Reply

