Sources for Gluten-free Flours and Recipes

This post is primarily for the person beginning the gluten-free diet. I am sharing the sources I use most after 5 years of GF baking. While still expensive, if you have a freezer to store flours bought in bulk or have friends to order with, these resources will make living GF a little more affordable.

This first is a gal who wrote a very good cookbook, using mainly almond flour in recipes. Her name is Elana, and she has at least 2 very good cookbooks in print. All her recipes are GF, and I would recommend her books especially for those who have diabetes or prefer not to store as wide a variety of flours. You can subscribe to her site and receive recipes in your email in-box.
Elana’s Pantry

This is another cookbook I found invaluable as a beginner in GF baking. I have not had a single recipe from it not turn out as expected. The author gives excellent descriptions of how a recipe will taste, and multiple methods of mixing, including using a bread-maker.

This next one is where Elana gets her almond flour. Believe me, it’s the cheapest place to get it! You can sign up to receive discounts with them and save up to 15% on an entire order. Perfect if you have a freezer to store flours in.
Honeyville Grain

This next one is the best place I have found to order any flours I can’t get through Honeyville. Their shipping is higher, but the over all price per pound is the best I have seen. I don’t know of any discounts available through them at this time.
Barry Farm Foods

This link is for GF pasta. This is the best pasta I have tasted since going GF. Not only is it simple and good, it contains no fillers, preservatives, and is organic. You will never eat another pasta except homemade after trying this! I have seen Walmart carry it on their shelves, and it can be ordered on Amazon.com and other online stores. Their site has recipes as well as product info.
Tinkyada Pasta


Tips;
When ordering bulk flours, you need to be able to store all but starches in a freezer. Use all flours at room temperature when baking. I keep a small amount of each on the shelf and bring out more as needed.

All whole grains and beans, as well as starches, should be stored in rodent-proof containers for up to a year in some cases. Research storage time for products you intend to keep around for a long time.

A bay leaf or two can keep flours and grains free of insects when added to the storage container. You will need more if using larger containers.

I hope this helps as you set out on your search for GF flour sources.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Gluten-free, Tips & Equipment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

