Homestead Diet: Week 1

Holiday’s are fast approaching, ones in which we eat, and eat, and eat. Oh,  and did I mention we eat? So, since everyone else has a diet/weight-loss plan, I figure I can make one too! *Note that I am not telling you what to do, I am not a medical or nutritional practitioner, or anything else. Do remember that only you are responsible for you.

So, here is the Homesteaders Diet, week 1!

  • In preparation for fat turkeys and nice sized hams, haul lot’s of feed and water to your animals. Give them a bath or two, and that pig will have helped you drop at least 5 pounds!                                                                                                                      
  • Don’t forget to start chopping wood so you can keep the old cook-stove burning during all your cooking.                                                                                                 
  • Now is a good time to start grinding your grain. It’s a great arm workout, or if you like the easy way and have an old bike hooked up to the grain mill you can work your legs!
  • Don’t forget to do the laundry! That’s a real fun job, that will make you sleep quite well! (I love this picture from LIFE magezine!)       

In all seriousness, work hard and eat well. Your body will show it. Finding jobs that use human power instead of electricity will help you stay strong, and is very rewarding. On the homestead, this is often quite easy, but everyone can do this to some degree. Simply replacing your fully electric appliances for the kitchen with manual or dual-option units can make you more self-sufficient and healthier. This weeks real tip? Find something manual to do each day for at least an hour, from kneading bread to hauling hay.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading, Natural Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

