Building a Milk Stand

Yesterday my boys helped me build a larger milk stand for our new Alpine goat. She is much taller and longer that the nigerian dwarfs, so we really needed another stand. 

Here, the boys are helping nail down the deck of the milk stand. I used the design from Fias Co Farm. You can see it here. I actually had to adjust the directions for both the nigerians and the alpine as the feeder and neck height were not right for our goats.

My boys really enjoyed getting to use a power tool, even if it was only a vibrating sander. (Be very careful if you allow your children to use tools. It takes a lot of supervision!) We sanded down all the edges to help prevent injury, giving everything a rounded edge and no splinters.   This is especially important for the neck pieces.

We used scrap wood, so everything is mis-matched in appearance. I like to leave enough room between boards so that poop falls through. The wood can get slick, so you might want to add a rubber mat. Here is a view of the neck piece. I used a hook on one side, and an “eye” with baling twine tied in a loop on the other. All I have to do to close it is hook the loop over the c-hook on the other side. Here is a picture of Ellie on the stand. It’s kind of dark since the sun has gone down. This is the milking corner. I can feed and milk 2 goats easily this way, going from one right to the other. This is one of the easiest stands to make, just be sure to measure your breed of goat so you make it long enough and the feeder height is at lower chest height. With new wood, I would guess this stand would cost around $20 to make.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homeschool, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

