Fire

I enjoy photography, the way I can capture a moment in time and work with it until the feel of that time stands out so that I can share it with others. It is said that a picture is worth a thousand words, and so it is to me. I enjoy the gift of vision, and when I want to share something that words cannot express, often a photograph can fill the void.

Here I played with fire, so to speak. I don’t have a fancy camera, so anyone should be able to do this with what they have. I have found that taking fire pictures at night lead to very blurry or grainy pictures, as well as light trails. I wanted crisp and clear, yet with a dark background, so I shot in the day-time in my grill, believe it or not!

Dancing Flames

The neat thing about fire is that it is mesmerizing, even in a picture. I have always loved seeing images in the dancing flames. And the heat! You can almost feel it as you see the bright, almost white flames.

Living Fire

Be sure to get in close and use an action setting on your camera or a very fast ISO so the image doesn’t blur too much. I also like setting my camera to take multiple shots one right after the other. Then I can pick and choose my favorite. In this case, the next photograph was probably my favorite. I feel as if I’m going to be engulfed in the flames!

Engulfment

Of course, after choosing your photographs, why not play with them a bit? Here I took the first photo and did some very simple playing with contrast and exposure to make the flames pop out.

Dancing Flames Edited

Nice, isn’t it? Or how about this one? I took the very same photo, adjusted the black balance, and then the contrast and exposure.

Dancing Flames Edited Version 2

Photography is an art. Some people prefer to stay with what comes off the camera, others to tweak, and still others to change the image completely. I enjoy playing no matter what, but I always keep an unaltered image as a backup in case I don’t like something I did or want to experiment with a different set of effects. You can set up a free account with Flicker and edit images in Picnik. This also allows you to share images if you want to and edit them without taking up computer resources. Who knows, you might even be invited to showcase your images in groups and win contests as well!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fire

  1. btlau says:

    you’re right, the flames are very mesmerizing

Leave a Reply

