Chaffhaye Update; 3 months in

Nearly 3 months on the Chaffhaye and I still like it. The goats fight over who gets the white yeasty parts and the barn is dry for once.

Downsides have been noted with winter weather; the bedding may be dry, but it doesn’t build up, so I’m going to buy hay just so the goats can waste some! I think the Chaffhaye is perfect for summer months, but cold weather means the goats can use some hay dropped on the floor to help keep everyone warm. I will still feed the Chaffhaye, but will feed regular hay in addition. This should help on costs as well, since the warmer the goats are the less they should have to eat to maintain body temperature. As soon as it got cold we doubled our Chaffhaye consumption.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chaffhaye Update; 3 months in

  1. This will be our second winter on Chaffhaye. When it gets cold, we throw in some grain to up everybody’s caloric intake. Their Chaffhaye consumption goes up, but it’s offset a little by the grain. We’ve resisted adding any regular hay back in for a number of reasons: 1) we like life without blister beetles and lice; 2) no foxtails – i.e., no oral abcesses; 3) consistent quality protein content; 4) stores outside up to two years; 5) no rodents; 6) we always know what the “bale” weighs; 7) the Chaffhaye doesn’t trigger my asthma like other hay; 8) we don’t want to tempt fate and create finicky eaters over the winter; 9) my hay price doesn’t fluctuate wildly throughout the year; 10) in springtime, my herd still looks great. So, we thought long and hard about it… but we made the decision to hang with the Chaffhaye even in colder weather. So far, it’s paid off.

    For warmth (especially on rainy and cold days) our goats tend to just head into the barn and hang out together – unless its sunny and cold, then they lounge out in the sun together. Or they go into the birthing pen where there’s shavings. Or if it’s just windy, or just getting dark, they crawl into the dogloo and the doghouses two-up and three-up. Ours tend to put on really heavy winter undercoats.

    I’m glad you’re liking the Chaffhaye. After a couple of years on it, we’re still thrilled with it.

    • I really am not liking that we added hay in the barn as bedding, but the alpine needed it. She was shaking all the time. I think she needs a coat since she is so mean to the other goats they won’t lay near her to keep her warm. I have to go get another load of the Cheffhaye this week, but am stuck with the bedding for a while. Thanks for sharing your experience with it! I don’t know too many people using it.

Leave a Reply

