My Kitchen

I live in an old house, built in 1923, and you can tell it’s been through lot’s of eras! My kitchen is the worst place in the whole house, which is awful since I love baking. It’s longish and rectangular, and the shelving is terribly inadequate. It was updated at some point to knotty pine siding and stained darkly, and it’s on the dark side of the house. The linoleum floor squares are sliding around, and ceiling tiles are falling down. Mice love getting in the cupboards, which were done in the siding as well and have warped so they can’t be closed tight. It’s dinky, inefficient, and cold! So, I’m updating! I have tried to win a kitchen make-over, but since that hasn’t happened I shall start and do what I can when I can.

Here are some before pictures, including the dirty dishes!

This is the hole in the wall, covered with wrapping paper. Next to it is the ceiling.

Now, I have lived with it for 5 years, but it’s time to make some changes! I’m getting tired of watching out for raw electrical wires and the constant mouse invasions. Today I got a start by working on some new cupboards. Most of the upper cupboards just need a face-lift with new doors, but I want some more counter-top space and storage, so I’m adding it on the inner wall opposite the sink. Oh, and those bright white and red magnets on the fridge? They are old campaign magnets for the past sheriff!

Once I have the first batch of cupboards up I will post some pictures and a tutorial on how you can build some too!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Kitchen

  1. Amanda McKinley says:

    I can’t wait to see the tutorial. On my never-ending list of things to do is remodeling the kitchen. My husband wants to replace the cabinets, but I would be happy just painting them. I would like to replace the “dungeon” cabinets (you know the ones that are in the corner and things get lost because you can never reach them). I would love to make them more accessible. I love reading your posts because they really motivate me.

    • Thanks! I’m trying to come up with a plan so I don’t have to rip out any cupboards, and I have to do something about the corners too. I’ll be sure to share what I come up with!

      So, what color are you thinking of doing your cupboards in? Do you like earth tones or bright colors, or stick to simple whites and creams?

  2. Suzette says:

    Hey ~ I feel your pain! Have had some frustrating kitchens, in my time. Glad the one we’ve just moved to is an improvement over the last! Have you guys ever thought of trying to be accepted for a makeover by Extreme Makeover: Home Edition? Might work! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

