Making Handmilled, Shaped Soap

I love the soap I make here at home! I decided to hand mill some leftovers from bars I had made earlier in the year as I had found some very pretty molds and wanted to try them out. Here is how to do it yourself!

First, you will need some basic equipment. A stainless steel or enameled double boiler, rubber spatula, soap base, spring water, greased molds, digital scale, and any extra essential oils or additives desired.

I didn’t have a double boiler, so I used a heat-resistant bowl over a pot of boiling water. Nothing like being creative!

Next, grate your soap. You will need 1 3/4 pounds of it. Be sure to weigh, not measure!

Grease your molds and line if using cardboard or wood. If you need to line your mold, grease it, then layer it with wax paper or freezer paper. To grease a shaped mold, I use melted vegetable shortening and brush it on with a pastry brush. Most anything can be a mold as long as it can withstand heat and the soap does not come in contact with metal.
Weigh out your water and essential oils. Bring the pot of water to a boil. Add around 3 1/2 oz. of the water to your boiler (this is the top pan) and heat. Add the soap flakes and stir with the rubber spatula. If you absolutely have to, you can add more water to get a melted cheese consistency, but try hard to not add any. Give the mixture time to melt.
This is in the early stages. If it is too dry, add some water. This batch didn’t need any. Below is a picture of the mixture when it has reached the right consistency.
At this point, add your essential oils and any additional additives you desire and mix well. Pour into molds and press out any air bubbles with your rubber spatula.
Allow to set 1 week, then un-mold onto some cardboard or stainless steel or plastic rack to harden. The soap will be ready to use after 3-4 weeks.
These make great Christmas gifts. All you have to do is wrap in tissue paper and tie with a ribbon. You can attache a note on ingredients, and even a recipe for natural care items like tooth powder or shampoo. Wouldn’t you like a gift as pretty as this?!
Here are the ingredients;

~1 3/4 lbs. grated soap (can be from the store or homemade)
~11 oz. spring water (not tap water!)
~1 oz. any essential oils you desire. (I used 2 parts cedar-wood and 3 parts lavender for mine)
~Colors or textures (paprika, turmeric, ground cloves or almonds, etc.) up to 1/2 lb. as desired.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

