A Taste of Honey, Mmmmm…

This last Monday we had guests here at Nigerian Meadows, a friend from Raleigh that wanted to meet us in person and play with our new baby goats. They arrived bearing gifts of honey from their own hives and pumpkin butter that Amelia made herself.

Both Amelia and Scott are helping us learn how to keep bees, and I have been bombarding them with questions, which they are always happy to help answer. Scott has even agreed to let us visit and help when he gets the hives set up in spring! We are excited as we hope to add bees to our homestead in 2012 at the latest. Here is in a picture on Amelia’s website. You can click on it to go to the page.

We got to know Amelia and Scott through their blog and web-site, and talk of goats and homesteading led to more and more communication. If you would like to see their blog, you can go here, and their main web-site (where they tell you about all the things they sell, like honey, eggs, soap, and milk) is here. They are a wonderful source of information on urban homesteading, living on a single acre in a very large city!

Anyway, back to the honey… Ohhh, my! We broke it open as soon as they were gone (well, actually it was a bit later since Hallie kidded about 10 minutes after they left!). I can’t adequately describe the taste, but let me tell you, nothing you have ever had tasted like this! Pure amber in color, it was so light and sweet, with a wonderful flowery taste! I emailed Amelia to tell her how it reminded me of crepe myrtles and gardenias, and she replied that those were the very plants around her yard! It has a taste that brings to mind a hot summer day with a tall glass of iced sweet tea while sitting on an old wooden porch in the middle of a garden. Now, more than ever, I want hives of our very own! Please check her out if you want local goods that rival what you can get in the chain stores.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Taste of Honey, Mmmmm…

  1. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    Jordana,
    You are so kind. Thank you. I’m glad you are enjoying the honey. We are sold out for the season and are (unfortunately) turning away new and repeat customers. Can’t wait til we harvest again next spring!

Leave a Reply

