Chaffhaye Update and New Births

As many of my readers know, we have been feeding our goats Chaffhaye since about October 2010. Our does were pregnant and we were having issues with hay on the floors causing mold due to our humid climate. We have loved it to the point I tell everyone I meet that might be interested, even considering becoming a dealer. I really like this stuff!

Well, we recently had goat babies born, and large numbers of them too! Our Cinnamon had quads (4) and Ammi had triplets, yet there were no runts! Not only that, all the babies were on their feet and nursing in what I consider record time, and all the mothers are nursing without supplementation.  I keep expecting to have to add some bottles, but the girls are keeping up with their kids voracious appetites. The dams are eating very little grain for all the milk they are producing, only about 2 cups a day. I give them more, but they quickly lose interest. I also am finding that they do not seem to need as many of the supplemental minerals, which they used to go through very quickly. I attribute much of this to the Chaffhaye. I just can’t believe what it has done for my girls!

Ammi's Babies Jan. 1 2011 022

Another thing I wondered about was feeding the alfalfa Chaffhaye to my bucks. I worry about urinary calculi, as do any goat owners with bucks. One of the causes of it is giving the bucks too rich a diet, such as feeding alfalfa. I am pleased to report that they are thriving on the Chaffhaye as well. There have been no problems at this time, and their coats look great. They ignore grain if I put out the Chaffhaye, which is fine by me. I understand that feeding too much grain to bucks can cause the urinary stones as well.

In case you have never seen this stuff, you can check it out by searching the word Chaffhaye, or you can go through the link I put in. It may be well worth seeing if there is a dealer near you.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

