Weddings and Farm Girls

My beloved sister is getting married in a little over a year and we are communicating long distance about bridesmaid dresses and wedding gowns. She looks very much like this model;

It’s hard to be so far away from her. We have no other sisters for her to shop with, and internet is not as much fun as putting our heads together to giggle and laugh as we look over books and daydream of the wedding. Then you take in my status as “farm girl” to her elegance, and it’s really interesting! My sister loves horses and animals in general, but where I’m kind of frumpy farm-ish, she reminds me of Thoroughbred horses, or maybe Arabians. I am very much a Clydesdale.We are very close despite our differences, so her wedding is special to me and I want to be with her as much as possible.

We will be getting together this spring, Lord willing, and doing some of her bridal shopping (actually, we will be seeing if we can dress me up decent, lol). Here are some dresses from a bridal web-site that I like, but I might have to get working on toning this farm-girl body before she gets here!

I like this one quite a bit. It’s not too long so as to trip me (and I tend to be a little klutzy) and the style is elegant and softly feminine. There is a short version of it too.

I like this one too, especially the color.

This one has a back I love and very simple lines.

Anyway, internet shopping is okay, but I’m looking forward to doing all this together in a couple of months. Feel free to share your favorite bridal sites so we can check them out!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weddings and Farm Girls

  1. The common thread of all the dresses you have selected is the clean and uncluttered look. This is very grown up! I think that you have a good eye, and will do just fine at looking good for your sister’s wedding.

  2. LindaG says:

    Congratulations to your sister!

    I’m a klutzy Clydesdale, too. Hope you have a great time with your sister when you get together!

  3. Ozarkhomesteader says:

    If your sister has considered tea-length gowns, you may want to check out Nataya.net . Nataya did the costumes for the movie Titanic and has an historic, hippy style. Seeing the sleeves on the wedding dress you posted makes me think you might consider something a little out of the ordinary. 🙂

Leave a Reply

