Disbudding

It’s almost time to start disbudding baby goats. I really hate that part of breeding them. I find myself coming up with excuses not to do it each day, but tomorrow it has to be done, at least on Ammi’s buckling.

If you are facing this task for the first time, here are a few hints;

  • Remember to cut the hair on the goats head as close as possible to minimize burning and bad smell (so momma will take them back)
  • Get your iron HOT and test it before using it.
  • hold that goat STILL so you don’t get it’s eyes or cause undue pain
  • give the baby a little children’s Tylenol before disbudding
  • Let momma smell kids hiney so she won’t get the burnt smell in her nose before kid tries to nurse

Remember that, yes, it will hurt, but they recover pretty fast. There is always risk when disbudding, so give a break between buds to allow the head to cool and the iron to be hot again so you don’t have to do this again in a week or two. Take a deep breath and steel yourself to ignore cries and struggles and get the job done as fast and thoroughly as you can. The last thing you want is to have to repeat this, and I can’t impress that on you strongly enough. Make sure you get the “golden ring” that shows you did the job well, or you will have scurs to trim or band in the future. Also, avoid doing more than two or three kids at a time or in a day. You will be too tired after that many and may make mistakes, plus your iron needs to cool off and be cleaned. This also helps avoid doing kids too early. Make sure you can feel the bud before applying that iron!

I will try to post a few pics tomorrow, but if I’m too stressed I may not get any. In case you can’t tell, I really, really hate this!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Disbudding

  1. Jule Sadger says:

    I would really really hate it too!!!!!

  2. laura little says:

    We just did this yesterday! I only had two, but a friend came by to show me how it’s done. We had tea and cookies afterward, which really compensated for any stress over the disbudding. Tea is the sovereign remedy for what ails a body.

    • It’s wonderful that you had help for your first time! I did it solo, and had never seen it done. Oh, man, that was hard. I’ll have to keep the cookies and tea in mind this afternoon!

  3. I really, really hate it too! I have to remind myself that if we wait, it will just be worse for us and the goats, because those horn buds grow fast! Our first kids of 2011 should be arriving in the next day or two, and your post just reminded me that I never sent in our clipper blades for sharpening this winter.

    • I know, but man, the nightmares I had last night! I’m getting ready to go out now since it’s warmed up enough to not send the kids into shock. I can hardly wait to see pics of your kids! I love your goats. They are very nicely chosen!

Leave a Reply

