Gluten-free Oatmeal Everything Cookies

Today my son helped me make cookies. They are so easy and so good! JJ is 5 years old, and is so proud of himself for helping today. Actually, let me re-phrase that; I helped my son make cookies! Mostly, I reminded him that after the spoon went in his mouth he couldn’t put it back in the bowl!

This recipe came from Shoshannah May, and was her adaptation to gluten-free. She calls it “Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies” with good reason! I have made a number of adaptations in things to replace the raisins, but the basic recipe stays the same. It’s the best ever!

Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Adapted to Gluten-free by Shoshannah May

1 cup butter
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 cups rice flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
3 cups raw oats
1 cup raisins (or any of the variations you want equal to 1 cup)

  1. Heat oven to 350°F & line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Beat butter and sugars until creamy, then add eggs and vanilla and beat well.
  3. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a separate bowl. Add to sugar mixture and mix well.
  4. Stir in oats and raisins; mix well.
  5. Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto an ungreased or lined baking sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.
  6. Allow to cool on baking sheet for 1 minute, then remove to a wire rack to finish cooling. Store in an airtight container.

Yield: about 4 dozen cookies

My variations:

  • craisins and chocolate chips
  • chocolate and butterscotch chips with an additional 1/2 cup chopped nuts
  • peanut butter chips
  • pecans!
  • candies of any sort
  • chopped apricots
  • chopped dates

I would have taken a picture of the cookies after being baked, but they keep ending up in my stomach!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Cakes & Cookies, Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Gluten-free Oatmeal Everything Cookies

  1. shoshannah says:

    My mom gave me the original recipe from an oatmeal box lid when I was a little girl.

  2. Patty McCoy says:

    Hi!
    I love your blog! I am a stay at home mom and I home school my 17 year old son who has autism. He is my sweetheart!!! We are trying to go completely gluten free.
    I noticed that in your picture that you have a KA stand mixer. We are considering the KA Pro 600 to make bread and lots of other gf things.

    What kind of KA mixer do you have and do you use it to kead bread? Any information on GF food would be much appreciated!!

    Love to see other moms homeschooling and just love being moms!!!!

    Thank you & God bless!

    Patty

    • Hi! Good to meet you 🙂
      I use the KA Pro 600. It handles the GF breads like a dream! I have an older classic from when Hobart made them, but it couldn’t handle the GF products. The twist heads are not strong enough. I can make a triple batch of bread and store extra in the freezer with my pro600, and it doesn’t even sneeze at me!

  3. Patty McCoy says:

    Thank you so much for getting back to me so soon!

    Do you have a good recipe for GF bread? I would like to try different recipes to see
    which one my family likes the best.

    Also, do you have any GF cooking tips? I want to go completely GF free for my son.
    We think it will be healthier for everyone. I want to try to stay away from high fructose corn syrup as much as possible. It seems to be in everything.

    Thank you so much for your help!

    • Better than sending you a bunch of recipes, I would suggest you buy “125 Best Gluten-free Recipes” cookbook. Here is a link to it on Amazon.com. That’s where most of my bread recipes come from or originate before I adapt them to post on here. We love the nutmeg bread in there without the nutmeg. It’s a very moist, almost white wheat taste with a whole wheat texture! The brown bread is great too. We serve GF foods to guests, and I haven’t found a single recipe in this book that anyone has not asked for seconds on.

      Basic tips; First of all, anything make with gf flour where it needs to get thick will require xanthan or guar gum. Guar gum is way cheaper and replaces xanthan gum in equal quantities in any recipe. Protein is vital in baked gf products, so the eggs and dairy are usually essential to a good product. I don’t know if you are casein-free, but it will impact your baking if you have to avoid the dairy. The cookbook I mentioned above has a few recipes without any of the common allergens in any case. I usually put stuff I modify on here, but don’t want to infringe on stuff so I have to make enough alterations to warrant posting a recipe. Oh, corn tortilla’s spread with PB&J or meat and cheese, beans, etc. and rolled up like burritos are great! Just heat the tortilla slightly so it becomes flexible before adding toppings. The only other thing I you really need to know is that you never, ever over-bake gf products or they will be very dry! Other than that, it’s actually pretty easy, and as long as you don’t consume huge quantities of baked goods it’s not even too expensive. We eat a lot of rice, beans, and potatoes with veggies and fruit for snacks.

    • I’m going to work on a bread recipe today that I can post for you. I have one I have been working on, but it may not be perfect. Stay tuned, will do it by this evening.

  4. Patty McCoy says:

    Thank you for all the great info.! I will look for that cookbook. The bread recipe sounds great! I have begun to cut down on the casein slowly. My son and I love cheese!!!

    May I ask you how long you knead your bread with your mixer and do you use an instant thermomiter when baking?

    Also, what does goat milk taste like? I have been reading about it and some say it is
    lower in casein. My son does not drink milk at all, but likes it on cereal and I put it in
    mac & cheese.

    Sorry for all the questions! I want to do this so bad for him and it is all so overwhelming!

    Thanks again & God bless!

    • GF bread doesn’t really get kneaded. You use the paddle attachment and usually mix it for 4 minutes to get air in. The consistency is that of quick-breads, like banana bread.

      I don’t use a thermometer, I have just learned the right sound or feel of the baked products. I do use toothpicks to check for done-ness if I am unsure.

      No one in our family can digest pasteurized milk. We thought it was the casein or lactose, but once we got goats we found raw milk was fine, even raw cow’s milk. That doesn’t apply to everyone, but generally people lack the enzymes to digest milk where everything is dead. Also, since pasteurization kills everything, cleanliness is not that great in most store-bought milk. They kill everything, take out all the good stuff, add dye to make it look right and thickening agents to make it feel right in your mouth, and sell it as milk. Lot’s of people are having more and more trouble with it. My boys couldn’t absorb calcium when drinking the pasteurized milk, but their teeth and nails do great on raw milk. This is all my personal opinion after our experiences and research, of course, but you may find it helpful to check out the website for the Weston A. Price Foundation. I have found it to be very well supported, though a little against the FDA grain.

      As to the taste of the milk, we only like the milk from the Nigerian Dwarfs. It’s really sweet and yummy! Other goats are good, but may get a “goaty” taste occasionally.

    • I’m afraid I didn’t get the recipe copied down 😦
      We have been busy with goats today. New little babies and getting everyone adjusted. I did add a pizza crust recipe that you can make into breadsticks or rolls easily, though!

      • Patty McCoy says:

        Hi! Thank you for the pizza crust recipe. I think I will try the bread sticks first.
        We have taken out dairy and soy. Maybe after several months or so when he has a chance to heal, I may try to reintroduce the dairy to see if that is a problem for sure.
        We have noticed a remarkable difference in the past week!
        Low anxiety, talking more, more full sentences, more focused, and happier!!!!
        Though I am afraid that there may have been cross contamination. He has pain in his throat today and is not feeling well at all. I am scouring my kitchen again and looking for whatever may have caused it.
        Thank you for listening and all your help! You and your information are a blessing!
        Thank you & God Bless!

        • That’s great news! Remember that it’s often 2 steps forward, one step back, so don’t let yourself become discouraged when you run into a temporary wall. We don’t handle pasteurized dairy at all, even when healed, but hopefully it will work for your son. You are very proactive with him, and should be quite proud of yourself for tackling this 🙂

          In case you didn’t know; candy often has hidden gluten, as do many seasonings. Hope you find the culprit 🙂

Leave a Reply

