The Kindness of Others

Today we had a an interesting school curriculum. We spent the day serving and being served. The day started off with finding out that the speech teacher our youngest sees was ill, so we had to move our lesson to later in the week. This made JJ pretty sad since he loves seeing his teacher. I was proud that he is learning that others are important too, and he was concerned for her health.

Next on our agenda were the farm chores. The boys saved me a lot of time by feeding all the babies their bottles and collecting eggs while I milked and fed all the goats. They loved that they were able to really help me! They are not strong enough to haul the 5-gallon buckets, but they held doors for me. We were supposed to start our official lessons after that, but other things took over.

First, we spent time praying for friends that were ill or in need. This was an eye-opening thing for the boys. They are finally “getting” that others are hurting. They were very concerned for the little girl that had her house burn down and has been getting treated at the burn center. Because she is a child it made them realize bad things happen even to kids. We found some things in our home to help the family out, even though it felt inadequate. They really want to help the family find another place to live, and everywhere we went asked if anyone knew of someplace.

We were served later by a local business (P.L. Woodard) that went out of their way to obtain minerals for our goats. One of the staff took time on his day off to pick some up from an hour away so that I could get them local today! They are always wonderful to us, and my boys love going there.

We finished the day by going to the library and checking out tons of books! The librarian helped us find some good chapter books for our 2nd. grader that were right up his alley, and he is extremely excited about his reading this week. Both boys had more fun than ever before perusing the shelves looking for reading material after she helped them! It was a bit unorthodox for a school-day, but I think it was well spent.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homeschool and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Kindness of Others

  1. laura little says:

    I think real life sometimes teaches the best lessons! Glad your boys are making those important emotional connections!

Leave a Reply

