A Visit to Uddermost Farm in Raleigh

Today we went to Raleigh, NC to visit a friend on her urban homestead, Uddermost Farm. I have written about her before, and she has been here, but this was the first time we were able to go see her place. All I can say is “Wow!”  Amelia and her husband Scott have done wonders with their city property. The keep chickens, nigerian dwarf goats, bees, and angora rabbits on 1 1/2 acres not 10 miles from the Capitol building!

Amelia and Scott, as I shared before, keep bee’s and collect honey, some of which they shared with us when they came out to our humble home. It was wonderful beyond compare, but that’s not all they produce. Today Amelia sent me home with the most amazing soaps! They are so soft and soothing! The scent is mild and delightful to the senses, and my hands feel so very soft after using some.  Amelia uses goats milk in her soap, something we want to try this year.

There is an elegance, yet approachable country friendliness about their home, and especially Amelia herself. She has a real gift for putting others at ease and making them feel welcome. Despite the rain, we went out to see her goats ( I love meeting other goats!) and tour her farm. They have an orchard started, and are putting in a huge garden this year. Scott made a tunnel for the chickens that I envy so they could get to the garden and forage. Amelia is starting seedlings soon, and getting ready for the impending arrival of a bunch of goat babies if Momma’s size is any indication! It was an enjoyable afternoon, and I can hardly wait to go back and visit again!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Visit to Uddermost Farm in Raleigh

  1. Jordana,
    Thank you for your kind words. It was so lovely having you and your boys here. You blessed me so much by your visit, talking about my favorite subjects (anything homesteading!); teaching me about feeling ligaments, udder attachment and separation, even worming methods; and bearing gifts. I made pancakes for breakfast yesterday so we could enjoy the maple syrup … yum! I haven’t opened the fig preserves or elderberry jelly yet, but I’m sure they will be delicious too. I’m glad you like the soaps. Please come back anytime you can!

    • I will, thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed the syrup! Some people find it strange since it’s not full of the artificial flavors and enhancers. Mmmm…that makes me hungry for pancakes!

Leave a Reply

