You Look Younger!

Recently I had a friend tell me (thanks Kristen!) that I look younger every time she see’s me. Everyone had a good laugh as she said it was probably some new natural skin-care discovery, and I said it sure was! Actually, it happened quite by accident, and here is the story.

A while back, when I first got interested in making my own soap, I ordered tons of oils, many of which I didn’t really understand, but thought would be good for the skin. I made sure I knew enough that I could be sure they would work topically, but I didn’t fully research all of them, even after I started making soap. I had so many different oils, and was using recipes by others still for my soap, and they did not use much of what I had bought.

Well, time wore on, and I started learning a bit more about each of my oils. I made some wonderful moisturizing oils for my skin that helped with the breakouts I get. Then one day I used up the last of my face oil, and out of time to make any, decided to use this thick, green oil I had bought a small quantity of. I knew it was safe to use directly, but wasn’t real sure if it was going to work, or even if I would be allergic to it, but I was desperate so on it went!

I loved it! It has a funny smell, some say it smells kind of like butter-pecan ice cream, but I can’t really describe it except to say it’s earthy with a little bit of moss. Anyway, I kept putting off making my oil blend due to a hectic schedule, and continued using this new oil. My breakouts and excema disappeared, which shocked me! I decided to research the oil a little bit better (yes, I know I should have done this before putting it on my face, but hey!) and thought I’d share it with you.

The oil is called Tamanu, or Foraha oil. It comes from the nuts of the tamanu tree, and as it turns out it treats skin problems, including rashes, bacteria, and excema. Fancy that, hahaha! It is an extremely hydrating oil, yet not greasy. It absorpbs quickly into your skin, leaving it feeling soft and supple. An amazing thing is that it also helps regenerate skin cells! And why haven’t I heard of this before?!

Here is what I found it described as on a web-site that sells it;
~ Tamanu oil, also known in Africa as Foraha oil, is obtain by mechanically crushing the dried nuts of the Tamanu tree. The Tamanu tree is typically found in the Pacific and Asian Tropical regions. The oil is a rich, deep color, and it smells similar to butter pecan ice cream. Tamanu oil soothes the skin, and it helps to relieve irritations including sun burn, inflammation and common rashes. Tamanu oil is hydrating, and it also helps regenerate skin cells. Research shows that Tamanu oil is a strong anti-inflammatory. It is useful for the treatment of rheumatism, eczema and inflammatory skin conditions. The oil has been used for its ability to help heal cuts and wounds while acting as a germicide to prevent infection. Tamanu oil can be used undiluted as a treatment for eczema, psoriasis, cuts and wounds or in cream and lotion formulations for general treatment of dry skin.

If you are interested in looking at the site for yourself, here is the place to go. I don’t remember where I bought it, but I love this oil!

Here is how I use Tamanu oil. I shake the container and put a small amount of oil on my index finger, then spot it onto my clean face and gently massage it in. Right away it looks like I put make-up on, and my skin has a fresh young-looking shine. Even tired out it refreshes my skin, allowing me to fool everyone into thinking I actually sleep at night! Really, though, it has been great for my skin, and is well worth the money. I didn’t understand how good it was for my skin until I looked it up, but I’m really glad I found it. Hope you get a chance to try it someday!

You might also like to check out these web-sites for more information;

http://hoy-ranza.blogspot.com/2009/10/picture-of-some-omy-patients-treated.html

http://www.tamanuoil.co.uk/picture-gallery.htm

http://www.puretamanuoil.com/about

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading, Natural Health, Skin Care and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

