Gluten-free Pizza Crust

Here is a recipe I adapted for my own taste. It can be made into rolls, bread-sticks, whatever you desire! Just spoon it into a bag to squish it into the desired shape. Mix some grated cheese into the dough, then spoon it into rough biscuit shapes to bake. Be sure to adjust baking time as needed.

yeast-rising thick pizza crust

1/2 c. rice flour
1 1/2 c. tapioca flour
1 c. sorghum flour
2/3 c. dry milk powder or non-dairy substitute
3 1/2 tsp. xanthan or guar gum
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. pizza seasoning (I use Italian)
2 Tbsp. dry yeast granules
1 c. lukewarm water
1 Tbsp. sugar
3 Tbsp. shortening (coconut oil is good too)
1/2 c. hot water
2 eggs @ room temp

Mix flours, milk, gum, and salt in a lg. mixing bowl. Dissolve yeast in the lukewarm water with the sugar. Melt shortening in hot water.

With mixer on low, blend ingredients, adding seasoning as desired. Add hot water and shortening and blend. Add eggs and blend. Add yeast and blend. Beat at high speed for 4 min.

Spoon half of the dough onto a greased cookie sheet or round pizza tin. With your hand encased in a plastic bag, press flat on sheet, giving the edges a little extra and raise them up a little. (note: I grease my hands with shortening and sprinkle corn flour on the cookie sheet) Repeat on another sheet with the rest of the dough. (note: this will be a fairly thin crust to my way of thinking. I like to double the recipe for really thick crusts)

Let rise 10 min. then bake in preheated oven (400 degrees F) for 5 – 7 min.  Spread with sauce and toppings and either bake 20-22 min. more or wrap and freeze for later.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

