Good Mommas

Last night I was doing chores, which with the current slew of babies that are nearly ready to go and the ones I am keeping and all the adults can feel like a whirlwind of activity! Cinnamon seems to think the milk stand is her enemy for some strange reason, and thinks it’s funny to let me pull on her collar and push her butt until she decided it’s time to climb up. Mocha simply refuses and makes me pick her up like a dog, and at nearly 65-75 pounds her wriggling body is a bit on the heavy side!

Then you have Hallie, who really likes to eat, who won’t get off the stand! She likes attention, too, and I have to spend at least 5 minutes scratching her cheek and chest and getting kisses or she feels like I have spurned her.  🙂   Ammi acts like she doesn’t care much one way or the other, and Throttle sneaks out looking for his bottle with every doe that comes through the door, even if he’s already had it!

Amid the chaos, I put Cindy on the stand. She’s calm as a slow running stream, and happy to get on the stand, and just as happy to get off at the end. While she was on (she was last) I put the Chaffhaye out, which all the goats love, even the babies! I had just come back to the milking room and shut the gate when I heard one of the newest babies screaming bloody murder! As Cindy went wild with concern, I ran in to find the smallest 4-day old doe had gotten her head stuck in the Chaffhaye bucket! I extracted her, and she was fine, just a little scared, but Cindy was still going wild. Her eyes were wide, her nostrils flared, and she was twisting and turning to get off that stand, yelling at the top of her lungs for her baby. Meanwhile, the doe’s momma continued to eat :-~
Photobucket

I released Cindy since she refused to finish eating and she ran right to her baby, examining every inch of him to make sure he wasn’t the one who was hurt, letting him nurse, then taking him and laying down all snuggled together. Now that is some momma!
Photobucket

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

