Sunshine and Work

Today has been full of work, same as yesterday. Warm, sunny days are a nice break from the cold winter, though there are more cold temps in the forecast here. It has been good to get a few things done, I just wish I could do more than I have!

Today we got a little buck stall set up for our little guys to keep away from the big guys when they want, and to function as a creep feeder. It has it’s own little house, a weather cover, grass, everything a little buck could want except his momma. They really seem to prefer the adults company, strangely enough. It’s surprising how gentle the adult bucks have been with them, even sharing food. Our shy buck, Katmandu, has started warming up to us with all the little guys running around, and Rascal seems to think he can jump on me like a little kid since watching the young ones doing so!

Hubby took all the bucks for a walk tonight, letting them romp in the yard and eat fresh leaves. They were so funny running around and showing off to the ladies, who watched with unmasked jealousy! Thankfully no one is in rut at the moment, so the stinky “buck” smell wasn’t too bad. They don’t get quite as many walks during rut!

I did not complete all the projects I had hoped to today, but I got some of them done, so the day has been good. I really enjoyed being out in the sunshine too! I’m looking forward to a busy weekend and more of the same šŸ™‚

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Goats, Homesteading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

