Goaty Play Yard

Around Christmas a neighbor was cutting a tree down and I begged wood for our goats. In an act of kindness beyond words, the men helped us haul branches and logs from the whole tree home for the goats and even cut a huge pile for firewood for us! Some of the trunk pieces have been sitting around the yard, and it suddenly occurred to me that they would be the new goaty play yard!

With the help of our boys I hauled the wood to the goat yard and managed to get it in through the maze of doors with only Hallie escaping for a walk. She really enjoyed this, managing to stay exactly 2 feet in front of me as we made a circuit of the back yard until I cornered her by the bucks. She wasn’t too happy about going back, haha!

After re-installing Hallie in the correct place, the children helped me arrange the wood like stepping stones so the goats could jump and climb. It didn’t take long for the kids to realize this was great fun, and soon they were pushing and hopping all over the place! JJ got down on hands and knees and acted like a goat, even maa-ing until everyone came over to investigate. We sat out there for almost an hour, letting everyone climb on us as well as on their new playground.

One thing I like to keep in mind is that it doesn’t have to cost a bunch to have nice things for your animals, just some ingenuity 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goaty Play Yard

  1. *~Michelle~* says:

    Oh I love their playyard! I cannot wait til all this snow/ice melts so we can get going on ours!

    Great pics! 🙂

Leave a Reply

