Forced to re-think garden plans

So, we have a tip from a reliable source that there is a real good chance gas prices will go over $5/gallon by memorial day. This is making me do some hard thinking about my garden. I really don’t need to be relying on the supermarkets for food if this happens. Especially fruits and veggies. I don’t have much choice when it comes to beans and grains, but I can grow a lot of our other stuff.

Here’s the quandary; do I plant my entire garden, knowing the soil needs a rest? I just don’t know. Pests will be a problem if the soil needs rest, but we just might need the veggies if things turn bad. And which crops would be the most beneficial? I have a lot of thinking to do.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forced to re-think garden plans

  1. laura little says:

    “The shrewd one that has seen the calamity has concealed himself; the inexperienced that have passed along have suffered the penalty.” Proverbs 27:12 What a capable wife you are, Jordana! Perhaps you can rotate parts of your crops so that the minerals they need from the soil are not the same as what you had planted there last year. I too am concerned over where the price of oil is headed; it affects far more things than people realize. Oil=plastic=fuel=transportation=cost of food=cost of all manufactured goods. Time to take the idea of self-sufficiency up a notch, huh?

    • Thank you Laura 🙂
      I am hoping just rotating from last year will work since it’s been a year since I combined beds and soil. I let an entire bed rest half of last year and didn’t plant a winter garden, so maybe I can get the rotation to work. I am hoping to add some more beds somewhere this year. Sure wish I had an entire acre to till and plant!

Leave a Reply

