“I’m going to be a Farmer”

Well, today has been bright and sunny, a wonderful day to spend outside! Temps were perfect, hovering around 65-degrees, and a light breeze blew through occasionally. Because it was so nice, I spent some time outdoors working (which I really love, actually) and got quite a bit accomplished.

One of the things I chose to work on was preparing the raised garden beds for early crops. I pulled out everything from last year and started turning the soil. My youngest son came running out to ask for Playstation games since they only get them on weekends, but when he saw me working he ran to get his child-sized spade and started working beside me to turn the soil. He was very proud of himself and the muscles he was building!
~Here is an image of last years garden and the beds we were clearing today.

Broccoli & Corn in Raised Beds

After a little while, JJ leaned on his shovel and wiped his hand over his face, sighed a little, and said “Being a farmer is hard work, Mom! I’m a good farmer aren’t I?!” Of course I encouraged my little 5-yr. old, telling him how great a job he was doing. It’s so rewarding to have my children willingly pick up their tools to work beside me!

Not long after JJ came out, my husband joined us with his own spade, greatly speeding up the work. I love having a husband with big, strong muscles and a great work ethic! It’s just so nice working together! The only one who didn’t join us was Jameson, but he helped me with the animals earlier in the day. Now all we have to do is get some seedlings in the ground!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Garden, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I’m going to be a Farmer”

  1. Heath says:

    That guy with the big strong muscles sounds awesome! I bet he is really smart too!

Leave a Reply

