Power, or no Power?

Yesterday we lost power. And we got it back, to lose it again. And again. And again. Most of town and country around here was out much of the day because of the wind. I got so desperate for a cup of coffee I lit a piece of paper to ignite my gas stove so I could heat water, 🙂 .  What adventures!

Well, I had things to do, places to go and all that, but stuff kept getting put on hold. Do you have any idea how much we rely on electric?! I had water, but not from our well. Our house was put on county water before we bought it, and it’s nice even though I prefer the well, especially when the pump in the well doesn’t work because the power is out. Still, I couldn’t do anything I had planned with that water since everything else uses power too.

We went to bed when the power went out again and we found ourselves in the dark. Makes sense why people used to go to bed with the sun! It’s kind of hard to do much when you don’t have light 🙂   Then, when the power comes back on in the middle of the night you find out quite abruptly how many lights you had on earlier. That was interesting. Oh, and the heat just so happens to be connected to the power grid, so it was off too, and we were down near freezing. Thank my good Lord for the plentiful blankets in our house!

So, that’s why I read books and our children actually got naps, and why the cookies are not made, nor did I get the bunny coop together yesterday. Oh, I forgot to tell everyone! A friend is giving us two angora bunny rabbits! Full-grown bucks. I’m going to be spinning fiber by Christmas! And the neighbor has offered us all his dog wool when he brushes. That threw me, but I did some research and you can really use it to spin! How cool is that? Anyway, lots to do today, maybe car shop, maybe visit friends. See ya later!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Power, or no Power?

  1. laura little says:

    Power/No Power is a mixed blessing. The things you did like reading and napping are treasures in their own way. The things you couldn’t do will still be there to do when the power comes back on. Glad to hear that you didn’t all freeze in your beds and that you are none the worse for the adventure!

Leave a Reply

