Walking Goats

Today has been so busy, but so good! It was pretty windy, and I was going to get the rabbit hutch built, but didn’t have the lumber. So, I did what any sensible woman would do and changed my plans. I did laundry. I taught my children. I played with goats! I really like playing with goats. I’ll tell you, though, playing with them while barefoot should be avoided. My pinky toe would prove it!

So, we really like our bucks, and they have a small pen, being that they are bucks and that tends to happen. There are also fewer of them than girls, so it works out. Anyway, back to what I was trying to say, we love our bucks and take them out for walks so they get enough exercise and mental stimulation. Both are taken care of as goats and children chase each other and frolic through the yard! It’s so funny watching a full-grown buck jump in the air and twist and turn like a kid! This is a rather difficult thing to do during rut since the bucks are only interested in girls (and think everything should be one if it moves) and they get rather stinky, but right now they are actually pleasant to be around.
~These are pics from last year since I didn’t take any pics today

Tonight, when my husband got home, the first thing he did was go get his boys. Kat decided not to join us, but Throttle and Rascal sure had a good time! Rascal got his hooves trimmed while giving me rides around the yard backwards since I was too lazy to take out the stand. He only bit my rear once, so I should count myself lucky! The whole time everyone else sat and laughed at my attempts to keep him from walking everywhere 🙂

James is training Throttle on the leash, and while we didn’t go out today, yesterday he went for a walk near the ball-fields and attracted the attention of a family. Throttle’s such a cute little guy, and it’s so neat to see my huge 6’6″ husband (who can be a bad-a** cop) walking a little pint-sized goat. Think of a really built, tall wrestling star walking a poodle pup and you’ll get the picture. Anyway, they came back with us to see all the goats, astonished at how friendly they all are. Today it was just us, and that was really nice. Everyone should be so blessed to have such a wonderful family and some good animals!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Goats and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking Goats

  1. Tina Parman says:

    My friend Robin(the one you are getting the bunnies from) said she thought you have milk now????? Please let me know. I will be in your neck of the woods next tues. March 8th. Also I would like to set up a homeschool field trip.
    Thanks
    Tina

    • Hi Tina! I removed your phone number so no one would bother you (not that my readers would do that, but someone not usually here might) and will get up with you concerning the milk. I’m afraid we do not have the licensing to do field trips, unfortunately. We usually stick to one family at a time so it’s just friends coming to visit. One day I would love to be able to have groups come, it’s just not something we can do right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

