What Rabbit Hutch?!

So, today I was going to finish the grand rabbit hutch, but my plans were changed for me while I was milking this morning. Right in the middle of milking my third doe the bucks started going crazy down by Ellie’s pen. She’s our alpine doe, and I have been watching for impending labor. I was up all night last night thinking she was ready, but had given up by milking time.

Well, I finished milking Cinnamon and went to check on Ellie, and sure enough she was having contractions and there was the whitish-clear-amber fluid. I ran back to the milk parlor and milked my last two does (who just so happened to be the slightly kicky first fresheners) faster than ever before. I ran the milk to the house and filtered it as quickly as possible, grabbed my birthing kit, and ran back to the barn. Then I sat for two hours as Ellie worked to get the kids in the right position and try to push the first kid out.

Her first was a huge buck that I had to pull, the second, a doe, was born easily. I thought everything was good and was getting ready to start on the hutch for our new rabbits, but when I went to check on the mother and kids I found the buck hardly breathing and looking dead. It turned out he had fluid in his lungs, so I spent the next hour trying to get it out. He seems to be doing well now, but the day is pretty much gone. At least I didn’t have the opportunity to smash my thumb again!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Rabbit Hutch?!

  1. KLSGrem says:

    I hope the buck will be okay. Congratulations on your new additions. 🙂

    • Thanks! He seems to be doing well this morning! I have seen him eating many times now and I think he will survive. If he is going to get ill from the fluid I should know by tonight, but he made it through cold temps last night just fine.

  2. laura little says:

    Wow! A buck and a doe! Glad you sorted the buck out. How do you get fluid from their lungs, may I ask?

    • Thanks, Laura!
      To get fluid from the lungs. Well, I used a bulb thingy for babies and kept in near to use in his nose and mouth when I got enough to clear. To get the fluid to drain out I held him by has back legs with one hand and one supporting his chest and swung him in a circle as I turned. When I got dizzy, I would gently swing him between my legs, and when my arms gave out I sat down on a tall bench with my legs stretched out and let him rest head down on them. As he would choke up fluids I wiped it off and out with my hand, clothes or towels, whatever was fastest.

Leave a Reply

