Rabbit Hutch Done…Almost

Well, I actually got some work done on the famous rabbit hutch. It’s nearly complete, lacking only a roof, a hinge, and 2 latches. Here is what I started with.
Next, I got a few tools out. By the end I think I had all the tools out!
When my husband got home, he decided to help me clear the bushes, a part I was not looking forward to at all! He got Jameson interested in helping haul them to the burn pile.
After a lot of work, and a lot of interruptions, here is the almost completed rabbit hutch, made from scavenged materials from friends, our yard, and even a little bit from the hardware store!
I’ll do some painting eventually…maybe…if I have time and don’t read a book 🙂
I ran out of my length of wire mesh and had to join a small piece on the end, that’s why I have the wood there.
I used old cupboard doors that were pulled out of our house sometime before we bought it. They are not fancy, but they lend it a cute quality. I backed it with scrap v-tin, and it will have a plywood and shingled roof eventually. Rather cozy for something thrown together 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rabbit Hutch Done…Almost

  1. Robin says:

    Well done! The boys will love it!

  2. laura little says:

    It’s a perfect farm hutch! I love things made from scrips and scraps. They are more interesting, and as I am famous for saying around here, “it gives it personality, don’t you think?” I hope your bunnies appreciate all your hard work!

    • I like that, “scrips and scraps”. And yes, they do give character. Sometimes I fall into the trap of wanting a “farm” that looks like a rich person lives here and has cute little barns that look like houses and paved paths, and lovely gardens without weeds, haha! I’m a very visual person, but it’s worse when we always have guests. Since I can’t quite make that happen, quaint and cozy scrips and scraps shall do! 🙂

  3. smwon says:

    Pretty neat! And I love that it was made with scraps!

  4. Heath says:

    It contains scraps, but all of those 2×4 s are brand new.

Leave a Reply

