Yard Sales

So, today I did the shopping. With fuel costs rising I tried my best to get enough feed for the month. I wish I had a good climate controlled place to store a few months worth, but I don’t, so I get as much as I can use before it goes bad. I got food for the humans too šŸ™‚

Anyway, I got all that done and was on my way home when I passed a yard sale. A big yard sale! Now, I haven’t been stopping because there are very few thins beyond food we actually need to buy, but this sale caught my eye because it had antiques. Not the out-of-this-world priced antiques, but ones that have been gently used and maybe need a bit of refinishing, stuff that we will actually use and not just set out to look pretty.

So, I turned around and went back. It was a combination sale, and one of the sellers was a friend of ours. He saw me looking longingly at some things and gave me a price so low I couldn’t pass the stuff up. I’ll have to take pictures to share later on, though stuff needs a little cleaning, and some repair. I got 4 lovely chairs for the dining room, a child’s rocker, an old game table that has the top that turns, and an old chest with the original paper inside AND the inner box! That was my favorite piece, and I almost missed it as they had set it aside on a truck-bed.

One of the things I love about our home is the eclectic mix of things I have furnished it in from dump and yard-sale finds. It makes it feel “right” and suits me. It usually makes my husband happy too since he loves old things.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Saving Money on the Homestead and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yard Sales

  1. laura little says:

    What wonderful “finds”! Especially the trunk. A good trunk, with all the original pieces, is an enviable acquisition. I’m going to have to go looking for one now….

    • I think so to, Laura! I can’t hardly wait to share pictures! My husband walked into the living room where I had set everything, stoped, and asked where the trunk came from. He didn’t even see the other stuff he was so intent on it šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

