Have You Tried BJU’s DVD Courses?

Homeschooling is one of those things that takes a lot of time, no matter how you look at it. To give your child more than the dull education you have to spend hours of prep work before even starting to teach, and costs can be high after printing stuff and gathering materials for crafts and to make the lessons interesting. Here is the sorry truth; I have so many directions I am being pulled with gardening, preserving, animals, yard, house, and simple family life that creative education is dropped for the speedy, basic facts delivered in a boring way. Since that is unacceptable to me, I am trying to find a solution that gives me a reduced work load for schooling the kids while giving them everything I can’t in creative presentation of information.

Due to seeing an area I am lacking in, I set out in pursuit of a solution. I decided it would be very nice if there were a video course with corresponding textbooks that would fit our childrens learning style and require less preparation and presentation from me while meeting the varying needs of both children at a reasonable cost. Whew, that was a mouthful! I did some internet searching, and found a large number of programs, but I was getting discouraged. They didn’t offer anything more than what I could do, and I was bored watching the small number of samples included. Another issue was never getting to preview text books. Then, when I was about ready to give up and continue the way I have been, I found a site for Bob Jones University.

BJU’s curriculum is good. As I was homeschooled, I remember using some of their materials and loving them. I saw they have distance learning now, with options for online, PC, and DVD lessons, and you can get an entire grade and adjust it for your needs up to two grade levels. You can preview all the videos and textbooks, and the cost is decent, though still high for a “library teacher”. The only downside from what I can see is that the lessons are leased, not sold. That stinks when you have a kid coming up behind another and only want to buy one grade package (the individual lessons are outrageous, your really better off getting an entire grade). Here is the link to their page.

My question is, have any of you used this curriculum and do you like it? Is there a lot of preparation for the parent teacher? Do you have to come up with lot’s of expensive materials to go with the lessons? I am seriously considering this for my third grader next year to make sure we are not missing anything, and taking a few of the classes at lower grade levels for our 1st grader where our third has them mastered already. I would love to hear constructive comments from those who have used the curriculum or seen it in action!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homeschool and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have You Tried BJU’s DVD Courses?

  1. LindaG says:

    There were times I considered homeschooling, but I wasn’t of the right mindset then, and we’re talking 20 years ago when I didn’t know where to look or who to talk to. (The internet has become an amazing resource in 20 years!)
    My hubby and I were both brought up in public schools when they still taught you something, you were expected to learn and do your best, and it was fun!

    I definitely understand you needing something to help you and I wish you the best in finding it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

