Of Udders and Farm Girls

One of my favorite subjects is goat boobies! Yes, really!! Not too many people in my close association share my fascination with them, so I have to get on here and talk. I love that they produce such yummy milk, and in such amazing quantities. I love the science and chance involved in breeding for them! And I love to show off hopes that pan out, like my doe Cindy.

I bought Cindy’s mom, Olson Acres Cinnamon, bred, a little over a year ago. We kept all of the kids in hopes that they would prove to be good producers with udders improved over their dam. As is typical, one doe is better than the other, but both are showing lots of capacity for that yummy-tummy milk! We decided to keep Cindy for our permanent herd, and Mocha went to a family as a start for theirs.

Cindy is an unassuming doe, she doesn’t look like anything special and has pretty plain, basic coloring. I wondered many times if I should sell her as she isn’t as feminine as her sister, but for some reason I just kept holding on to her. She is a quiet, friendly doe, willing to let me do anything with her. She has proven to be a wonderful mother, and a good milk producer. I fully expect to get 3 quarts of milk a day from her next year, possibly much more. I took some pictures of her udder today to share with everyone!

This first one shows her rear udder, but she doesn’t like posing very much 😉  She could use better side attachment, but her medial support is nice.

Next we have a side udder view. Again, she isn’t posing really well, but she is high and tight in back. What your looking for ideally is to see 1/3 of the udder in front of the leg, 1/3 hidden, and 1/3 in the rear. She is more rear, but that may change a bit next year.

Another thing you look for with udders is the front, or fore, attachment. It should be smooth and tight, without any pockets being formed. Cindy’s is very nice, at least in my opinion. It could be a little smoother, but it’s quite secure.

Now, here is the best part. Keeping in mind this goat is smaller than my medium size dog, I held my large-ish hand (for a woman) up to her teat, and can fit three fingers easily on it! Her teats are longer than Ellie’s, the alpine that we have! And not only are they long and thick, but they are soft as silk and soooo easy to milk!

So, I had to show everybody. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for this girl! One thing I know; she is a keeper for milk!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Of Udders and Farm Girls

  1. LindaG says:

    I think disposition and milkability are definitely more important than how girly she looks. 🙂

  2. Linda says:

    I agree! Your doe has some nice boobies! LOL I’ll have to get some pics of my does, although that will probably be a trick to accomplish! LOL

  3. Linda says:

    I’ll see if I can get a couple of pictures in the morning while she is full. My doe has poor teat placement – she has airplanes! Well maybe not quite that bad! LOL I don’t have any problem milking her though. Her teats have really grown with each freshening though…

  4. Linda says:

    Oh ya, and she is very hairy too! LOL

  5. Danielle says:

    I love reading all of your posts, but this one is especially helpful! I just started milking one Nigerian in September and another in January, so I am trying to learn how to evaluate their udders. Thank you for the pictures AND the explanations 🙂

Leave a Reply

