Adina & Childs Laughter

CornerStone Farm Adina arrived today, thanks to Barb, owner of CornerStone Farm. She is everything I hoped for, and I’m really excited to add her to our herd and family. She will have her first kids in April, and one of the things I was so happy about is the chance for a doe out of her yet this year. I took some photos, despite everybody giving her a hard time.

She’s small, and has sweet pixie feet, and moves like she’s about to dance.

I love her! While I was taking pictures, Jameson decided he would like to come into the goat yard. He loves this, a huge change from just a few months ago when he was still scared of the goats. I got some really nice pictures of him laughing, very unusual for him.

That’s how it starts. He calls it “Attack of the Goats”  🙂

And on it goes. Strangely enough, Adina likes Jameson better than anyone and follows him around.

And eventually, all the goats have to get in on the fun. “Look Mom! I’m Mister Popular!” Jameson say’s!

And that is my joy. My children’s laughter.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Adina & Childs Laughter

  1. Linda says:

    Children’s laughter is great and you got some awesome pictures! Your new doe is tiny and a cutie!

    • Thank you Linda 🙂 She is small.

      Side Note* Barb mentioned that there are some studies going on about fertility and growth of livestock, especially cattle and goats, and they are seeing a trend from feeding GM grains and loss of fertility and slow growth in the animals. She’s wondering if that’s why so many in her area had low fertility (and getting worse over the last 3 years) and slow growth. Adina is very small, not too much bigger than my 3 month old does from this year. Of course, they are large from being on moms all the time, so it’s not the best comparison, lol!

      • Linda says:

        You know, that is a possibility, although it may ultimately be caused from a lack of minerals, which could very well be caused from the GM foods. I feed organic (organic is supposed to mean no GM), except for the hay and I don’t think it is GM yet…

  2. laura little says:

    I’m so glad to see the bonding between your son and the goats. When my son does something with the animals he glows with his knowledge that he was brave. Today he was super brave and let one of the wethers suck on his finger. I thank God for the growth that he has known because of having these opportunities to be with creatures who do not judge or misunderstand, but accept him just as he is. I’m sure you feel the same way about your children and animals.

    • I totally understand Laura. I cried writing this. My son’s natural laughter is somewhat rare, and the animals make him feel “liked”. He’s just “normal” enough to make kids think there isn’t any reason for him to have the quirks he does. You son’s letting a wether suck on his finger is huge! I’m so very glad homesteading has been so good for him, and you too!

Leave a Reply

