Started the Garden

Today we got most of the early crops in the garden, including a sunflower and wildflower bed. We have cabbage, brussel sprouts, lettuce, carrots, radishes, peas, and some early zucchini planted. I am running out of space already, and still need tomatoes, broccoli, celery, garlic, onions, herbs, squashes of all kinds, watermelon, and the list goes on. I do wish I could till my whole yard and use it without hitting the drain field for our septic system.

Our newest goat member is full settled in now. She is standing up for herself and eating and going inside with the other goats. She cuddles after dinner, coming to me for petting now, even trusting me enough to scratch her cheek. She is a real darling, and beautiful to boot. She has also embraced the chaffhaye we feed and refuses to eat the hay sent with her. Oh well, the rabbits will eat it.

I’m planning my goat garden too. A bed right in front of their pen full of natural worm repellents and yummy treats. I know I want some tansy if I can find the seeds or plants somewhere, some wildflowers, rosemary, maybe even some perennial prairie grasses. Do goats like marigolds? If anyone reading this has knowledge of good combination’s for a goat garden, please share!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Started the Garden

  1. LindaG says:

    Wow. You’ve gotten a lot done!
    Hope you all have a great week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

