Spring Pictures on the Farm

So, pictures are getting posted first. The rest may wait until tomorrow! I am giving a kind of story with the pictures, so it will make everyone smile πŸ™‚

We shall start with the dog kennel chicken run. My hubby helped make it work right when I was stumped with how to get around the last tree without enough fencing. He’s a great problem solver! The pen surrounds a bunch of our fruit trees, and the chickens act as fertilizer and pest control, though they would prefer to roam the yard and give the dog their eggs!

Next up, we have the pretty flowers. They are blooming this year after not doing anything for the last 5. They volunteered to bloom outside the bed πŸ˜‰

Now, on to the goats. Relaxing in the barn is something goats do very well, and these are some pretty comfy looking goats!

Now, speaking of goats, they like to eat. Remember all that chaffhaye I was moving the other day? Well, here is what around 1,500 pounds of it looks like.

Now, if that doesn’t look daunting, maybe you should open the door to the nest box where a number of hens have decided to quit laying and set, only they are setting in empty nests, the stinking squawkers! Yes, she does bite, and was growling quite loudly as I took this picture!

I have been working in the garden, not that it looks like much, but it’s much tamer than the chickens!

Here is the thornless blackberry I added today. I very stupidly put the ones with thorns by the gate to the garden. I wouldn’t recommend that to you :-~

Now, see this hen? She’s not in the chicken pen. She never is. She can fly out or go under anything, and goes back to the buck pen every chance she gets.

Now, I don’t mind her being over there, but by the time I found where she was laying she had decided to hatch a good-sized clutch of eggs. 3 feet off the ground, in a compost pile. In the buck pen. This is really for the birds!

Okay, if your not bored yet, here are some pretty pictures of our bucks. Here, Rascal is trying to coax me into petting him. “Please?! I promise I haven’t pee’ed on myself for three whole hours!”

He really is a handsome guy. I think he knows it.

Now, our little guy, Throttle, he’s so sweet. He’s like “Mo’om! Pet me! Or at least get me a bottle!”

Now, he’s handsome too, just little still.

So, that’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it! Would you believe all these pictures are from today?! Hope you enjoyed them, and the little soap opera’s on the farm.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spring Pictures on the Farm

  1. Sweet timeline “story” and great photos. Thanks for sharing them : )

  2. LindaG says:

    Busy busy! I think I’d take out the blackberries with the thorns…
    Have a great day! πŸ™‚

  3. Danielle says:

    Thank you for sharing! I love to look at other farmstead pictures for the sheer enjoyment and to get ideas about possible changes to make here πŸ™‚

    • Your welcome πŸ™‚ I do that too. Farm people seem to be very creative in general, and we all share our ideas!

      • Danielle says:

        I also have a question on the Chaffhaye. I posted it on your FB page under “discussions”, but I think it got lost πŸ™‚ I have only fed three bags so far since the closest dealer to me is two hours one way. I am assuming that you are very happy with it since you bought all of those bags! How do you decide how much to feed each of your goats? Do you base it on the weight chart they have on the bag? Do you also feed “roughage” hay? Sorry for all of the questions, and I hope you don’t mind! I am trying to decide if it is worth the trip to buy it especially since GM alfalfa was approved. It’s a decision between the Chaffhaye and the $$$$ for organic alfalfa hay.

        • Yes, I am extremely happy with the Chaffhaye! I am not too concerned with the organic issue since the GM alfalfa will cross pollinate and it’s all going to be that anyhow. 😦 I was told by the dealer I buy from that the Chaffhaye is supposed to be non-GM and possibly organic. I fill one 5 gallon bucket for every 2-3 goats 2x a day without extra roughage. If I provide other hay as well I only feed Chaffhaye once a day. They won’t eat much other stuff if there is a choice of having Chaffhaye instead. If you have pasture I wouldn’t mess the any other hay. I have 11 nigerian dwarfs right now, 4 in milk, 1 pregnant, and go though about 2/3 of a bag every day, in cold weather I go through a bag a day. I really find it to be worth the price in my goats health, my breathing, and the money and time it saves me from typical waste and molds/pests (lice and mites). Without damp hay on the floor I don’t have as many flies either, and the milk is really rich. My kids eat the hay very early and have had exceptional growth this year, already to the size I bred last year and they are only 3 months old!

  4. Danielle says:

    Thank you so much for the additional information! I really did like the product when I fed it to our goats. We have 8 Nigerians and three are in milk. I was “afraid” that it would be worth the drive πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

