Making Chevre

Here’s the story, of a lovely cheese called chevre, and a very lovely jam. She has possibilities untold, seasonings galore, and texture as smooth as silk.

Chevre started out as a very lovely milk, all creamy, fresh and white. She came from a just as lovely goat or two, and now adorns the most delicate of foods. Here is how she’s made.

First, the milk has to be cooled, or heated depending on just how fresh it is, to 80°F. It takes about 5 quarts of that whole, creamy milk.

Stir in 1/2 cup of fresh cultured buttermilk, the freshest possible. We used the buttermilk I cultured the day before. Stir it into the milk quite well, then add 2 tablespoons diluted rennet (1/3 cup cool water and 1/4 tsp. rennet mixed together) and stir gently for 2 minutes.

Cover and let rest 8-12 hours, or overnight. Strain through a cheesecloth or cotton diaper (not one used on the baby, chevre doesn’t like those) for 8 hours. You can tie it up on a spoon or rod hung over a tall pan.

Season the chevre to taste, or wrap in plastic and freeze for 3 months unseasoned.

Seasoning ideas: Onion soup mix, sea salt, jams or jellies of all sorts, chopped green onions, jalapeno peppers, salsa. It’s great on bread, crackers, eaten plain, etc.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making Chevre

  1. laura little says:

    Oh, that’s so sweet. I didn’t know it was going to be a love story! *sniff*

  2. Danielle says:

    I have been intimidated by the idea of making cheese. You make the directions for this one so easy I might be tempted to try it!

    • Chevre is really easy, Danielle 🙂 It can’t hurt to try it. My first time the cheese was a little rubbery, but I mixed in a touch of cream and blended it and it was still fine. It’s hard to really mess this one up.

Leave a Reply

