Making Mistakes

Yesterday (I was too beat to write this last night) I made a simple mistake that cost me an entire day of labor and about $50. Have you ever made one of those? I have made far too many, much to my chagrin 😉

In this case, we were working on the pool. I wanted to vacuum the leaves and other debris from the bottom as we have been trying to get it ready for warm weather. We have a sand filter, so it’s a pretty simple matter to do the vacuuming, only when we tried the filter spit all the debris back out into the water. I double checked the setting I had the filter on. The words were all worn off, so I was doing this by memory. I could faintly make out the word “Recirculate”, so it seemed like everything should work. It didn’t.

After much discussion, we decided to remove the top of the filter to check the sand and internal components. This should have been a simple matter, but when I did the original plumbing I couldn’t find parts to do what I wanted and ended up permanently attaching the pipes. This meant I had to cut them all off to open the filter. I did so, and still couldn’t see anything wrong, so we decided it might be the laterals under all the sand. Not knowing the best way to remove all that sand, we headed inside to the computer. My husband found a video on YouTube showing how to change the sand in the filter, and at the end they said to make sure your valve was set to “filter” instead of “recirculate” or the water would by-pass the filter sand and shoot right back into the pool. Yes, exactly. I tore everything apart to fix a problem that was non-existant, if you don’t count my bad memory. It’s 1p.m. at this time, and I don’t have any of the parts to fix the pipes, so off I go to the hardware store.

After replacing all the lines with couplers that will allow me to remove the filter when needed, and labeling the filter head with a permanent marker for future reference, I turned the pump on. I had a few leaks to fix in the couplers, but it worked. We vacuumed the pool with success, and the guys went swimming. You might say it was cold still. I can tell you that even though I didn’t get in because they managed to soak me while I was attaching braces for the water pipes.  By 5:30 p.m. we were finally done. I was too tired and sunburned to bother fixing supper, so we ate leftovers and my husband put the kids to bed while I did the evening milking. I am so very glad it wasn’t a real problem, but I sure do wish I had marked the filter last year when I thought about it and then decided I would surly remember and didn’t need any stupid writing to remind me! 😉

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Making Mistakes

  1. LindaG says:

    Done stuff like that many times, too, unfortunately.
    Here’s to a better Monday! 🙂

  2. Robin says:

    I wish I had a nickel for every time I did a “bone headed” thing – I would be wealthy beyond measure! The good news, I don’t usually make the same mistake twice, so hopefully, I will run out of mistakes, eventually! Hope today is better!

  3. laura little says:

    Unfortunately, I do the same thing all the time. I think that’s how hardware stores make most of their money, isn’t it? If it wasn’t for “Doh!” moments, they might go broke.

Leave a Reply

