I’m Beat!

First, I have to tell everyone; the potatoes are up, as are the peas, radishes, lettuce, cilantro. The tomatos are in as is the cabbage, broccoli, brussel sprouts, peppers, carrots, and who knows what else I put in! I love seeing the garden grow! The rhubarb is ready to start picking, too 🙂

Now, for today I got the kids school done and a couple other inside things, then went to the barn to do a little cleaning. Much to my utter dismay, I realized all the oat hay I laid down during the winter was soaking wet and nasty under the pine pellet bedding. What a nasty mess! I spent three hours cleaning that junk out, and raked some dry stuff over the top with sweet PDZ to freshen it and make the flies not as bad while the ground dries out. No wonder my poor animals ended up with liver flukes and worm overload!

After cleaning the barn loafing area, I did the kidding stall/creep feeder area since Adina is due to kid in the next couple of weeks. Then I decided to do a little clean-up in the milking parlor, and fell through the floor. Really. A mole had tunneled under all the cement pavers and when I stepped on them they fell. You could say I am not happy. How in the world do I get rid of the thing?! The tunnels are everywhere, and I am just hoping none of the animals or guests get injured. So, I tore up as much flooring as I could and re-filled with dirt, and now have a disorganized room since I couldn’t fix everything. Now we have supper, laundry and chores, plus lesson plans for tomorrow. Can someone give me a paying job?!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Beat!

  1. laura little says:

    What is a mole’s natural enemy? A ferret? A pit bull? A terrier? Nope, it’s a homesteader on a mission! Look out, Mole! Your days are numbered.
    I’ve seen evidence of a similar sort around here, but thank goodness none in a critical area. Hope it all works out well.

Leave a Reply

