New Microscope!

Our new microscope arrived! We have been playing with making slides from a butterfly the kids found dying a week ago. Here are some pictures.

The microscope is not name brand, but it’s nice! Smooth and easy to use, with excellent controls! Supposed to be made by the same manufacturers that make the parts for Lieca and such. We also got some slides, covers, and stuff to do bacterial gram staining.

Here is the butterfly we are cutting up.

And, here is the microscope set up.

Now we have the boys looking at slides.

I also used my digital camera and experimented with taking photos of the slides. Not too bad if you ask me 🙂

Anyway, I was excited and wanted to share. I am really excited about being able to take pictures of the views in the microscope since I intend to document a study on fecal samples and parasite loads in our goats over the next year. Doing some tracking and want to be able to show what I am finding. Hope you enjoyed the pictures! Oh, and I put the camera, a Cannon point and shoot, on manual at auto white balance and 800 ISO, with the macro setting for a close-up picture. I cupped my hand around the microscopes eye-piece and the lens to the camera, and could zoom in and out to get the picture I wanted. You have to move the camera around a bit to get the full picture do to the lenses in the tube of the eye piece and the camera. Took some maneuvering, but in about 2 minutes I had it down.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homeschool, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Microscope!

  1. Don’t the kids just love looking at things in the microscope? Mine certainly do! Have a great time with it!
    Blessings!

  2. LindaG says:

    Looks like a plenty fine microscope to me. And great pictures, too!
    Have fun with it! 🙂

    • Thanks! I had my fingers crossed since I was ordering from an online store. It is something like a $1000 microscope if bought from a name-brand company, but this doesn’t have any brand on it and I got it for just over $100 on sale, including shipping! I was thrilled to see it wasn’t a piece of junk 🙂

  3. Kelly Moore says:

    Greetings from Northern Virginia! I am shopping around for a simple microscope for a farming friend in Ireland who wants to be able to check fecal samples for fluke on his cows. Would you be willing to share the website with me where you found this good little scope? I have found a few but it’s nice to have a real life recommendation. It’s so great that your kids have an interest! A simple scope that my folks bought my brother a long time piqued my interest and I’m sure that’s what helped lead me into my eventual Hematology specialty as a medical technologist.

    • Sure 🙂 I got the microscope from AmScope

      The reviews of the company were good, though anyone that had to return a scope said to be sure to keep all the packaging. Mine arrived in perfect condition, and actually had parts I was not expecting to be included. I have been quite impressed with the smooth operation of the parts and how well I can fine tune my view. Much better than some scopes I worked with in college, actually. There are no instructions for use, so for those that don’t know how to use a microscope it could be frustrating, but there is always Youtube. My package was mailed the day I ordered it, and arrived very quickly 🙂 Best of luck to your friend!

Leave a Reply

