So much to tell!

Ok, I know I haven’t been writing much lately. Lot’s has been happening! We had wonderful guests yesterday, friends that are getting some goats. I spent some time showing them the basics, and we all played with the babies and sat on the kitchen floor tasting different seaweeds and making different flavors of chevre to eat ๐Ÿ™‚ย  It was sooooo much fun!

The day before, we finally bought a truck, a great big one! I don’t have a picture yet as I would love to clean it up a bit. It’s a work truck, a Chevy Silverado 2500HD crew cab with a long bed. I shouldn’t have to worry about putting too much in it! I really like it, though you can tell it was used by dirty men carrying a ton of tools and mud in and out. The thing is huge! I’m really not kidding here. It also drives wonderful unless your going 70mph. Hubby thinks it’s the tires, and we are hoping they even out with driving. Anyway, it’s really nice having a bigger truck.

I have had problems in the goat barn thanks to a layer of hay under the pine pellet bedding getting too soggy and wet. Made it possible for my does to get a bad case of worms, so we have been treating for them with chemicals for the first time. I am very unhappy about it, but they are looking great now and the bedding is now removed. The lovely, rich grass gave one of the doelings the runs, which scared me since it took a few days to correct itself. She shouldn’t have been so greedy! I told her I would start calling her a pig if she kept it up ๐Ÿ˜‰

Today I spent time playing with some of the girls, and my husband took some pictures. I wanted to share them last because it was such fun, and I think you will enjoy them. We may not have a fancy barn or huge fields for the animals, but we love them and they are very happy and healthy. Our kids have a grasp on life and a hardiness that comes from being with animals and outside. What more can you ask for?!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So much to tell!

  1. LindaG says:

    Amen. ♥ ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

