Earth Day

Today was spent sharing our love of goats and gardening, telling people how we use what God has given us. JJ and I went to an earth day festival in Wilson at Truly Unique, and brought our nigerian dwarf doeling Abigail with us, along with some pictures and information on how everything works together to help make our little environment better. Many people in our area have no idea what a nigerian dwarf goat is, nor that you can really milk a small goat and even drink the milk! It was so neat to see peoples amazement when they started learning about our goats, and very rewarding to find such a sincere interest in these animals. Children’s faces simply lit up when they pet Abigail, and she was the perfect goat all the way. For never having been anywhere besides her yard, nor having ever been leashed, you never would have known she was so well behaved!

JJ was interviewed by the local newspaper, and Abigail had a number of pictures taken with children, so we may be famous for a day next week. Abigail was even given an interview over the loud-speaker, but she must have been afraid to tell everyone what she was thinking because she only spoke after the microphone was pulled away!

James brought Jameson out, and spent some time talking to people as well. He then very kindly took both children into his care and took them to the park and swimming. We are all quite burnt from the sun, and I am testing forahu oil to see if what I read is true and it will heal my burns. I am so bad on my face I am afraid it might blister, but it is feeling better since I loaded it with the oil. It doesn’t even hurt to touch it now, which is pretty amazing.

Besides the festival, one other neat thing happened today! When I went out to milk this morning I heard the lone ranger hen start squawking. When I looked, there she was with a brood of maybe 9 or 10 chicks recently hatched, and she took control of the center of the goat room floor. No goat dared go within a foot of her for fear of being attacked, haha! This little bantam hen, which looks for all the world like a little wren, protecting her brood with fury. What a sight, and what careful goats! They are quite a sight in the grass running around their momma’s legs, then dashing under her when a shadow comes near. I’ll have to get a better picture tomorrow; I’m too beat tonight!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Earth Day

  1. Heath says:

    You left out the part where Abigail did not want to come out of her cage until “The Goat Whisperer”(Me) showed up!

  2. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    What a day! Thanks for being a great ambassador for what we know and love … our Nigerian Dwarf goats :)! Congratulations on the hatched chicks. Go Mamma hen! I wish we had a rooster to be able to have our own, but we have 9 in a box on the porch waiting to be big enough to join the other hens.

    • Haha! I sometimes wish we were NOT hatching chicks! Now I will have way too many, and they are a mix of something or other 😉 We ordered some earlier, too, so will have some in a box as well. I will say, momma does a better job than me though!

  3. LindaG says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day. And those chicks are just too cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

