Momma Hen and Chicks

I said I would take some more pictures of the hen and her chicks, and here they are!

“Momma, momma, momma!” peep the little chicks.

“There she is!”

“Altogether, now, no one wander off!”

“Junior, come along now. Don’t stare at the funny human!”

Hope you enjoyed the cuteness!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Chickens, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Momma Hen and Chicks

  1. laura little says:

    Great photo-story! I have a rooster question: Does the crowing bother you? How close to your house is the rooster? Is there a way to have a quiet rooster? I would love to have one so we could hatch out some of our own eggs, but the last time we did he was crowing all night. I was just hoping for a solution….

    • Thanks šŸ™‚
      No, the roosters don’t bother us, but we have better windows than the neighbor, who thankfully says he’s up at 3 a.m. anyway šŸ˜‰ Silkie’s seem to crow less than many of the other breeds, and I think there are one or two breeds with quiet roo’s, but don’t remember which ones. Roo’s are made to crow, it warns the hens of danger and keeps everyone together. He is the flock-keeper, so it’s hard to find one without a voice. Good luck! You can always wear ear-plugs šŸ˜‰ If you put the roo in a really dark coop and only open it when you get up in the morning he will be quieter, but not silent.

  2. LindaG says:

    Loved your photo story. šŸ™‚

  3. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    So cute! Thanks for the pictures šŸ™‚

  4. Thanks, guys šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

